老师星期二!

班扣女士认识布克女士

Buckles女士从斯旺森中学(Swanson Middle School)的六年级社会研究老师开始了她的第一年教学。 Buckles女士是一位双重公爵,在James Madison大学完成了她的研究生和本科课程。 她拥有历史学学士学位,并于今年五月获得了教学文学硕士学位。

Buckles女士来自很多老师。 她的家庭中著名的老师和行政人员包括她的妈妈,妹妹,祖母,曾曾曾祖父和许多姨妈。 除了她的父母,她养育了她对学习的热爱,并且“当我想在星期六在图书馆度过数小时时,从不抱怨”,历史的本质本身激发了她作为一名老师的灵感。

Buckles女士的工作最大的乐趣就是“开始与梦想大的小人一起工作。 我喜欢看着那些努力学习概念或技巧的学生终于明白了!” 当被问及是否存在挑战时,巴克斯女士回答说:“我工作中最大的挑战是提醒自己每天做事。 我有一个坏习惯,试图提前几周使事情井井有条,这在教育界是不现实的。”

Buckles女士可以阅读,书写和说法语。 她目前正在阅读 维多利亚时代的伦敦:城市的故事1840-1870年,由Liza Picard撰写。

Buckles女士确信,她在自己相信的学校系统中找到了理想的工作,“鼓励以学生为中心的学习,庆祝多元化,并营造卓越的环境。”

Teacher Tuesday!

Ms. Buckles in ClassMeet Ms. Buckles

Ms. Buckles is starting her 1st year of teaching as a 6th grade social studies teacher here at Swanson Middle School.   Ms. Buckles is a Double Duke who has completed both her graduate and undergraduate coursework at James Madison University. She has a B.A. in History and she received her Master of Arts in Teaching this past May.

Ms. Buckles comes from a long line of teachers. Notable teachers and administrators in her family include her mom, her younger sister, her grandmother, her great-great grandfather and numerous aunts.  Aside from her parents, who fostered her love of learning and “never complained when I wanted to spend hours at the library on a Saturday,” the very essence of history itself inspires her as a teacher.

The biggest joy of Ms. Buckles’ job is, “getting to work with tiny humans who dream big. I love watching students who struggled with a concept or skill finally understand it!”  When asked if there are any challenges, Ms. Buckles responded, “The biggest challenge of my job is reminding myself to take things day by day. I have a bad habit of trying to get things in order weeks in advance, and this is unrealistic in the world of education.”

Ms. Buckles can read, write, and speak French.  She is currently reading Victorian London:  The Tale of a City 1840-1870, by Liza Picard.

Ms. Buckles is certain that she has found her dream job in a school system that she believes,” encourages student-centered learning, celebrates diversity, and fosters an environment of excellence.”