الثلاثاء المعلم!

السيدة باكلز في الفصلقابل السيدة باكلز

بدأت السيدة باكليس عامها الأول في التدريس كمدرس دراسات اجتماعية للصف السادس هنا في مدرسة Swanson Middle School. السيدة باكلز هي دوق مزدوج وقد أكملت كلاً من الدراسات العليا للخريجين والجامعيين في جامعة جيمس ماديسون. حاصلة على بكالوريوس في التاريخ وحصلت على درجة الماجستير في التدريس في مايو الماضي.

تأتي السيدة بوكليس من سلسلة طويلة من المعلمين. من بين المعلمين والإداريين البارزين في عائلتها والدتها وأختها الصغرى وجدتها وجدها الأكبر والعديد من العمات. بصرف النظر عن والديها ، اللذين عززا حبها للتعلم و "لم أشتكي أبدًا عندما كنت أرغب في قضاء ساعات في المكتبة يوم السبت" ، فإن جوهر التاريخ نفسه يلهمها كمدرس.

أكبر متعة في وظيفة السيدة بوكليس هي ، "العمل مع البشر الصغار الذين يحلمون بشكل كبير. أحب مشاهدة الطلاب الذين عانوا من مفهوم أو مهارة يفهمونها أخيرًا! " عندما سُئلت عما إذا كان هناك أي تحديات ، أجابت السيدة بوكليس ، "التحدي الأكبر في وظيفتي هو تذكير نفسي بأخذ الأمور يومًا بعد يوم. لدي عادة سيئة في محاولة ترتيب الأمور قبل أسابيع ، وهذا غير واقعي في عالم التعليم ".

تستطيع السيدة بوكليس القراءة والكتابة والتحدث بالفرنسية. هي تقرأ حاليا فيكتوريا الفيكتورية: قصة مدينة 1840-1870بواسطة ليزا بيكارد.

السيدة باكلز على يقين من أنها وجدت الوظيفة التي تحلم بها في نظام مدرسي تعتقد أنه "يشجع التعلم المتمحور حول الطالب ويحتفل بالتنوع ويعزز بيئة التميز".

Teacher Tuesday!

Ms. Buckles in ClassMeet Ms. Buckles

Ms. Buckles is starting her 1st year of teaching as a 6th grade social studies teacher here at Swanson Middle School.   Ms. Buckles is a Double Duke who has completed both her graduate and undergraduate coursework at James Madison University. She has a B.A. in History and she received her Master of Arts in Teaching this past May.

Ms. Buckles comes from a long line of teachers. Notable teachers and administrators in her family include her mom, her younger sister, her grandmother, her great-great grandfather and numerous aunts.  Aside from her parents, who fostered her love of learning and “never complained when I wanted to spend hours at the library on a Saturday,” the very essence of history itself inspires her as a teacher.

The biggest joy of Ms. Buckles’ job is, “getting to work with tiny humans who dream big. I love watching students who struggled with a concept or skill finally understand it!”  When asked if there are any challenges, Ms. Buckles responded, “The biggest challenge of my job is reminding myself to take things day by day. I have a bad habit of trying to get things in order weeks in advance, and this is unrealistic in the world of education.”

Ms. Buckles can read, write, and speak French.  She is currently reading Victorian London:  The Tale of a City 1840-1870, by Liza Picard.

Ms. Buckles is certain that she has found her dream job in a school system that she believes,” encourages student-centered learning, celebrates diversity, and fosters an environment of excellence.”