老师星期二–莫妮克女士

Monek女士的班级认识蒙妮克女士

莫妮克女士在家里长大,母亲和父亲都是老师。 她解释说:“他们俩都教会我达成目标需要艰苦的工作和奉献精神。 他们还向我展示了学习可以而且应该很有趣。” 在为学生开设课程时,她会牢记后者,以便他们对学习充满热情和热情。

Monek女士过去两年一直在APS任教英语。 在读研究生时,莫妮克女士曾在华盛顿自由大学担任长期代课老师。 在那里,她遇到了一群英语老师,这启发了她。 她说:“那里的英语老师(詹妮·布鲁斯维茨女士,莎拉·贝克尔女士和卡特里娜·里德女士)给了我成为优秀老师的工具和信心。 他们鼓励我冒险,从错误中学习,并与学生保持联系。”

莫奈克女士当老师的最大乐趣就是向她的学生学习。 “我的学生是我遇到的最聪明,最善良的人。 他们一整年对他们的激情和兴趣教给我多少让我感到惊讶。 他们体现了成为好朋友和公民的意义。 我们的学生还很年轻,但是他们鼓舞人心。 “

莫妮克女士并不总是一位老师。 大学毕业后,她担任市场营销和广告客户主管。 当被问及经验时,Monek女士说:“我真的很喜欢在创意环境中工作,并且我对该领域学到了很多东西。 我仍然会使用其中许多技能作为老师。

Monek女士目前正在阅读Jason Reynolds撰写的“双向看:十个故事集”。 Monek女士计划在班上读书。

Teacher Tuesday – Ms. Monek

Ms Monek's ClassMeet Ms. Monek

Ms. Monek grew up in a household were both her mother and father were teachers.  She explains that, “They both taught me that accomplishing your goals requires hard work and dedication. They also showed me that learning can and should be fun.”  She keeps the latter in mind when creating lessons for her students so that they will be excited and enthusiastic about learning.

Ms. Monek has been with APS for the last two years teaching English.  While in graduate school, Ms. Monek worked at Washington-Liberty as a long-term substitute teacher.  It was there that she encountered a group of English teachers that inspired her.  She stated, “The English teachers there (Ms. Jenny Bruesewitz, Ms. Sarah Becker, and Ms. Katrina Reed) gave me the tools and confidence to be a great teacher. They encouraged me to take risks, learn from my mistakes, and connect with students.”

The greatest joy of being a teacher for Ms. Monek is learning from her students.  “My students are some of the brightest, kindest people I have met. I am always amazed at how much they teach me about their passions and interests throughout the year. They exemplify what it means to be a good friend and citizen. Our students are still young, but they are so inspiring. “

Ms. Monek was not always a teacher.  She worked as a Marketing and Advertising Account Executive for a few years after college.  When asked about the experience Ms. Monek stated, “I really enjoyed working in a creative environment, and I learned a lot about the field. I still use many of those skills as a teacher.

Ms. Monek is currently reading “Look Both Ways: A Tale Told in Ten Blocks,” written by Jason Reynolds.  Ms. Monek plans to read the book to her classes.