老师星期二–麦基文女士

麦基文女士

认识麦基恩太太

McKeown女士是APS的第一年特殊教育老师,也是18年的资深老师。 McKeown女士形容她迄今为止的表现是“出色”。 “我拥有支持我的学生和我自己学习的用品和技术。 我参加过的专业发展已经发挥了作用,并且与我作为特殊教育者教学科学的角色相称,而斯旺森的教职员工则是善良而真诚的。

麦考恩女士还是一名小学学生,她与学者们在挣扎中,不喜欢上学。 “我有一些热情而真诚的老师,使他们能够上学和学习新技能。” 麦基恩女士努力工作,以确保她的学生感受到同样的温暖。 麦基翁女士(McKeown)的灵感来自威廉王子郡前行政长官米歇尔·沙利文(Michele Sullivan)。 “从她那里,我了解了保持老师生活平衡的重要性。”

当被问到她的工作最大的乐趣是什么时,麦基恩女士回答说:“我工作中最大的乐趣是“啊哈”时刻,当时学生确定他们永远不会理解某些东西,并且证明自己错了。 麦基恩女士会告诉其他有志教书的人“让学生选择合适的东西来指导您的决定。”

如果McKeown女士不教书,她将拥有并经营一家纱店。 她目前正在阅读《埃莉诺·奥利芬特完全没事》。

Teacher Tuesday – Ms. McKeown

Ms. McKeown

Meet Mrs. McKeown

Ms. McKeown is a first year Special Education teacher with APS and an 18-year veteran teacher.   “Fabulous,” is how Ms. McKeown describes her year so far.  “I have supplies and technology to support my students’ learning as well as my own.  The professional development I have attended has been functional and appropriate to my role as a Special Educator teaching science, and the faculty and administration here at Swanson are kind and sincere.

As a grade school student, Ms. McKeown struggled with academics and didn’t like going to school.  “I had a few warm and genuine teachers who made coming to school and learning new skills bearable.”  Ms. McKeown works hard to ensure that her students feel that same warmth.  A former administrator in Prince William county, Michele Sullivan, was an inspiration to Ms. McKeown.  “From her I have learned the importance of having balance in life as a teacher.”

When asked what the greatest joy of her job is, Ms. McKeown replied, “The greatest joy in my job is the “Ah ha” moment,  when a student was sure they would never understand something, and they prove themselves wrong.  Ms. McKeown would tell others aspiring to teach to “Let what is right for the student guide your decisions.”

If Ms. McKeown were not teaching, she would own and run a yarn shop.  She is currently reading Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine.