老师星期二–卡彭特女士!

卡彭特女士教学班

见见卡彭特女士!

Carpenter女士教授西班牙语,并在APS服务已有17年。 Carpenter女士认为APS是工作的好地方。 用她的话说:“我们很幸运,拥有一支出色的员工队伍和各种资源,可以帮助我们的学生在学校取得成功。 我们的系非常重要,因为由于全球化和移民,我们成为国际社会的一员,并且对我们的学生来说,精通一种以上的语言是一种优势。”

当被问到是谁激发了她的灵感时,卡彭特女士给她的父亲命名。 她说:“我父亲一直是我的领导。 他有良好的职业道德。 他曾经每天早上4:00醒来准备上班。 他每天早上5:00离开家,乘公共汽车去巴拿马城,步行30分钟就成为巴拿马运河委员会的经理。 他在30年后退休,就在巴拿马运河的所有权移交给巴拿马之前。”

Carpenter女士喜欢在教室里使用技术。 她相信:“作为老师,我们有责任跟上这一代人的步伐。 我在课堂上运用各种阅读,口语,写作和听力策略。 我使用歌曲,音轨,视频剪辑,图形组织者,访谈等。现在,使用Canvas,可以更轻松地个性化您的教学并保持学生的动力。”

卡彭特女士对那些渴望担任类似领导职务的人的建议是:“成为一个好倾听者,负责任,做自己,对他人的需求敏感,并成为团队的拥护者和沟通者。”

卡彭特女士希望所有人都知道:“当老师是爱的劳动。 我们之所以从事这一职业,是因为我们关心学生及其在生活中的成功。”

Teacher Tuesday – Ms. Carpenter!

Ms Carpenter teaching class

Meet Ms. Carpenter!

Ms. Carpenter teaches Spanish and has been with APS for 17 years.  Ms. Carpenter feels that APS is a great place to work.  In her words, “We are fortunate to have a wonderful staff and a variety of resources to help our students succeed in school.  Our department is extremely important because, due to globalization and immigration, we are part of a world community and it is an advantage for our students to be proficient in more than one language.”

When asked who inspires her, Ms. Carpenter named her father.  She said, “My father always has been a leader to me.  He had a great work ethic.  He used to wake up every day at 4:00 am to get ready for work.  He left the house at 5:00 am every morning, took the bus to Panama City and walked 30 minutes to his job as a manager for the Panama Canal Commission. He retired after 30 years, right before the ownership of the Panama Canal was transferred to Panama.”

Ms. Carpenter loves using technology in her classroom.  She believes that, “As teachers we have a responsibility to keep up with this generation. I utilize a variety of reading, speaking, writing and listening strategies in my classroom. I use songs, audio tracks, video clips, graphic organizers, interviews, etc. Now, with Canvas, it is easier to personalize your teaching and keep students motivated.”

Ms. Carpenter’s advice for those aspiring to similar leadership roles is to, “Be a good listener, be responsible, be yourself, be sensitive to the needs of others, and be an advocate and a communicator for your team.”

Ms. Carpenter wants everyone to know that, “Being a teacher is a labor of love.  We are in this profession because we care about our students and their success in life.”