老师星期二–诺里斯先生!

诺里斯先生

认识诺里斯先生

诺里斯先生是斯旺森中学乐队的负责人。 诺里斯(Norris)先生是APS的26年退伍军人,之前曾在美国海军陆战队鼓和军号军团担任军鼓队“指挥官的自己”。 诺里斯先生出生于英国,享年35岁。当被问及什么使乐队对学生如此重要时,诺里斯先生回答说,“乐队”很重要,因为(与其他表演艺术一样)乐队需要个人进行合成为了创建共享的“实时”艺术品,来自许多其他学科的概念以及个人的亲身经历(与其他人一样)。 “

诺里斯先生的高中乐队导演对他的生活产生了重大影响。 “通过乐队,沃克先生创造了一个每个人都感到需要且重要的环境(甚至像我一样的书呆子)。 我希望能够向可能会或可能不会找到适合学校文化的地方的学生提供相同的归属感和认同感。”

当被问及对那些渴望担任类似领导职务的人会提供什么建议时,诺里斯先生说:“永远记住,与您接触的每个人都面临着您可能永远不知道的挑战。”

与动物合作将是诺里斯先生的第二职业选择。 诺里斯先生目前正在阅读史蒂芬·安布罗斯(Stephen Ambrose)撰写的《战争中的美国人》。

Teacher Tuesday – Mr. Norris!

Mr. Norris

Meet Mr. Norris

Mr. Norris is the Director of Bands for Swanson Middle School.  A 26-year veteran of APS, Mr. Norris previously worked as a Snare Drummer “The Commandant’s Own” in the United States Marine Drum and Bugle Corps.  Mr. Norris was born in England and became a US Citizen at the age of 35.When asked what makes band so important for students Mr. Norris replied, “Band” is important because (like other performing arts) it requires an individual to synthesize concepts from many other disciplines, along with personal human experience (with others doing the same), in order to create a shared “in real-time” work of art. “

Mr. Norris’ high school Band director made a big impact in his life.  “Through band Mr. Walker created an environment where EVERYONE felt needed, and important (even nerds like me). I wanted to be able to provide the same sense of belonging and identity to students who may or may not, have found a place to fit into school culture otherwise.”

When asked what advice he would give for those aspiring to similar leadership roles Mr. Norris stated, “Always remember that everyone you come in contact with is facing challenges that you may never know about.”

Working with animals would have been Mr. Norris’ second career choice.  Mr. Norris is currently reading “Americans At War” by Stephen Ambrose.