老师星期二– Demarino先生

Demarinos年轻自制香肠认识德马里诺先生

DeMarino先生教授技术教育,并且已经在APS工作了19年。 在与APS合作期间,DeMarino先生还担任过摄影老师,年鉴顾问和早间公告制作人。

“我对孩子和教育的兴趣来自于在一个彼此照顾的小镇上的成长。 每个人都亲密无间,互相传授传统。” DeMarino先生的中学商店老师Rosa先生帮助塑造了DeMarino先生的职业道路。 “先生。 罗莎(Rosa)是第一个接近我的职业生涯并建议我在教学领域表现出色的人。 如果不是他,我就不会上大学。”

职业,技术和成人教育总监Kris Martini使APS特别适合DeMarino先生。 “他在专业水平上提供了最大的支持,这使我对向所有技术教育学生教授两个主要概念的目标感到满意。 首先,将技术定义为满足人类需求的产品或过程。 第二,如何将设计过程应用于任何问题。 如果学生的成果是要满足他们的州能力,那么我可以在班级内应用任何技术工具。 在Swanson的技术教育班的木工车间和计算机实验室中,学生有机会应用他们解决的技术问题-软件,电动工具,3D打印机,机器人技术和激光切割机。 许多学生在公立学校或教育环境中没有这种机会。”

When asked about the joys and challenges of his job, Mr. DeMarino replied, “The biggest joy and challenge are the same, providing students access to the latest and greatest technology tools.当被问及工作中的乐趣和挑战时,DeMarino先生回答说:“最大的乐趣和挑战是一样的,这使学生可以使用最新,最出色的技术工具。 Whether it is 3D printing, robotics, wood tools, or laser cutting, it is awesome to introduce young people to cutting edge technology in the design world and see genuine happiness, once they create products with it.无论是XNUMXD打印,机器人技术,木制工具还是激光切割,一旦将年轻人带入设计领域,向年轻人介绍尖端技术,并带来真正的快乐,真是太棒了。 The biggest challenge is learning it myself and figuring out how to apply it in the teaching environment so that students can have successes and learn the design process.”最大的挑战是自己学习它,并弄清楚如何在教学环境中应用它,以便学生获得成功并学习设计过程。”

DeMarino先生将向有志担任类似领导职务的人士提供以下建议。 “冷静下来。 成为领导者不同于成为老板。 但实际上,让学生尝试,当他们失败时,保持积极向上并鼓励他们再试一次。 正是他们的经验创造了教训。 不要为他们想做的事情做任何事情(无论它是什么)。在工程世界中,许多迭代设计创造了伟大的技术,而领导力,通过多次尝试建立知识和技能也是如此。 ”

就个人而言,德马里诺先生是斯蒂尔的忠实拥护者,辛茨永远不会改变。 他喜欢追逐怪物雄鹿,十月份到来时要坐在树上2001英尺高的地方几个月。 “我的祖父是一位伟人和水手,教我如何制作鹿肉香肠并种一个杀手花园来填满冰柜。 从那以后,我就把家庭传统传给了我的家人,他们讲的是种菜和做香肠的方法。 XNUMX岁那年,我成为了在宾夕法尼亚州西部长大的小镇的一名初级志愿消防员,并一直提供帮助,直到XNUMX年,那里的交通事故主要是交通事故和偶尔的大火。 该社区在意大利文化和家庭传统上蓬勃发展。”

DeMarino先生目前正在阅读 Berenstain熊上学干净。 “我不得不说,过去一年来我读过的最好的书是 非常饿 毛虫。 It's great downtime with my daughters, after a virtual teaching day.”在虚拟的教学日之后,我的女儿们的停工时间非常长。”

Teacher Tuesday – Mr. Demarino

Young Demarinos Homemade SausageMeet Mr. DeMarino

Mr. DeMarino teaches Technology Education and has been with APS for 19 years.  While with APS Mr. DeMarino has also served as a photography teacher, yearbook adviser, and morning announcements producer.

“My interests in kids and education came from growing up in a small town where people took care of each other. Everybody was close and taught each other from traditions.”  Mr. Rosa, Mr. DeMarino’s high school shop teacher, helped to shape Mr. DeMarino’s career path.  “Mr. Rosa was the first person who approached me career wise and suggested I may be good in the teaching field. If it were not for him, I would not have gone to college.”

The Director of Career, Technical, and Adult Education, Kris Martini, makes APS special to Mr. DeMarino.  “He provides the greatest support at a professional level, which allows me to feel valid in my goal to teach students two main concepts to all technology education students. The first, to define technology as any product or process that meets the needs and wants of humans.  The second, how to apply a design process to any problem.  I can apply any technological tool within my class if the outcome for students is to meet their state competencies. Students have opportunities in the woodshop and computer lab of the technology education classes at Swanson for application to technological problems that they solve – software, power tools, 3D printers, robotics, and a laser cutter. Many students do not have such opportunities at a public school or in educational settings.”

When asked about the joys and challenges of his job, Mr. DeMarino replied, “The biggest joy and challenge are the same, providing students access to the latest and greatest technology tools. Whether it is 3D printing, robotics, wood tools, or laser cutting, it is awesome to introduce young people to cutting edge technology in the design world and see genuine happiness, once they create products with it. The biggest challenge is learning it myself and figuring out how to apply it in the teaching environment so that students can have successes and learn the design process.”

Mr. DeMarino would give the follow advice to those aspiring to a similar leadership role.  “Chill out. Being a leader is not the same as being a boss. For real though, let the students try and when they fail, keep it positive and encourage them to try again. It is all about their experiences that create the lessons. Do not do it (whatever it is) for them as much as you want to jump in. In the engineered world it is the many iterations of design that create great technology and the same goes for leadership, building knowledge and skills through many tries.”

On the personal side, Mr. DeMarino is a true blood Steeler’s fan that yinz will never change.  He loves to chase monster bucks, sitting twenty-five feet up in a tree for a couple of months come October.  “My grandfather, a great man and marine, taught me how to make venison sausage and grow a killer garden to fill the freezer.  I have since passed down the family traditions to my family of how to grow veggies and make the sausage.  At the age of twelve I became a junior volunteer fireman in the small town where I grew up in Western Pennsylvania and continued to assist until 2001, where mostly car accidents and an occasional fire were the calls. The community thrived on Italian culture and family traditions.”

Mr. DeMarino is currently reading The Berenstain Bears Come Clean for School.  “I’d have to say the best book that I’ve read over the past year is The Very Hungry Caterpillar. It’s great downtime with my daughters, after a virtual teaching day.”