老师星期二–布朗先生!

布朗先生教学课认识布朗先生

布朗先生是一位英语学习者(EL)老师,同时教授英语语言艺术和科学。 来到APS之前,布朗先生曾在中国,韩国和玻利维亚的学校教英语。 大学毕业后,他首先对教学产生了兴趣。 “我在加利福尼亚州奥克兰市为AmeriCorps的小学生提供了识字教育。 放学后,我还指导了学生的足球队。 我发现我喜欢与年轻人一起工作,但是我没有接受任何培训,有时甚至不知道如何最好地帮助学生。 我最终决定正式返回学校学习教育,以便有效地在公立学校教年轻人。”

我们问布朗先生,APS的与众不同之处是什么,他回答说:“我喜欢为APS工作,因为该县充满了创新,勤奋的老师,他们通过挑战相互支持,并互相帮助以改善工作。 毫不夸张地说,我所学到的大部分关于教学的知识都是我从Key和Swanson的其他老师那里学到的,而且这个过程还在继续。”

作为一名高级英语老师,布朗先生最自豪的时刻发生在他看到学生无论在学术上还是个人上都在成长。 “学生有时只用几英语来。 他们可能来自另一个国家,那里的学校与斯旺森大不相同。 适应新的学校,语言和文化会带来一系列社会和学术挑战,乍一看,这些挑战可能会令人难以承受。 很高兴能在调整过程中为学生提供支持并看到他们掌握新技能。 经常看到这些学生成为“专家”,他们常常会产生深切的同情心,他们转身帮助下一批新移民。 毋庸置疑,EL部门的多语种和多元文化学生充实了Swanson,并且随着他们变得更加自在地表达自己,整个社区都将从他们的声音中受益。”

如果布朗先生没有选择教学职业,他会跟随他姐姐的脚步。 他的姐姐是一位野生生物生物学家,在塞拉利昂研究濒临灭绝的狐狸。 她把时间分散在背包里,在山上背包里收集样本和在实验室里研究动物的DNA。

Teacher Tuesday – Mr. Brown!

Mr. Brown teaching classMeet Mr. Brown

Mr. Brown is an English Learner (EL) teacher who teaches both English Language Arts and Science.  Before coming to APS Mr. Brown taught English at schools in China, Korea, and Bolivia.  He first became interested in teaching after college.  “I tutored elementary school students in literacy for AmeriCorps in Oakland, CA. I also coached the students’ soccer team after school. I found that I enjoyed working with young people, but I didn’t have any training and sometimes didn’t know how to best help students. I eventually decided to return to school and study education formally so that I could effectively teach young people in public schools.”

We asked Mr. Brown what makes APS special to which he replied, “I like working for APS because the county is filled with innovative, hardworking teachers who support each other through challenges and help each other improve at their jobs. It’s no exaggeration to say that most of what I’ve learned about teaching I’ve learned from other teachers at Key and Swanson, and this process continues.”

As an EL teacher, Mr. Brown’s proudest moments occur when he sees students grow, academically or personally. “Students sometimes arrive with only a few words of English. They may arrive from another country where schools are much different than Swanson. Adjustment to a new school, language, and culture presents a range of social and academic challenges that can at first feel overwhelming. It’s gratifying to support students through this process of adjustment and to see them acquire new skills. It’s not uncommon to see these same students become “experts” who turn around and help the next newcomers, often with deep empathy. It goes without saying that the EL department’s multilingual and multicultural students enrich Swanson, and as they become more comfortable expressing themselves, the whole community benefits from their voices.”

If Mr. Brown had not chosen a career of teaching, he would have followed in his sister’s footsteps.  His sister is a wildlife biologist and studies endangered foxes in the Sierras. She splits her time between backpacking in the mountains collecting samples and studying animals’ DNA in the lab.