المعلم الثلاثاء - قابل السيدة ويليامز!

السيدة ويليامز

قابل السيدة ويليامز

تقوم السيدة ويليامز بتدريس إدارة الأعمال وتكنولوجيا المعلومات وتعمل كمستشار الكتاب السنوي في مدرسة Swanson Middle School. قامت السيدة ويليامز بالتدريس في نفس الفصل الدراسي في سوانسون على مدار الـ 12 عامًا الماضية.

ولدت السيدة ويليامز في عائلة من المعلمين ، وتعتقد أن التدريس كان دائمًا في دمها. "منذ أن كنت صغيرة ، أردت أن أصبح مدرسًا. كانت أمي وجدتي معلمتين ، لذا فإن التدريس يسري في دمي. عندما كبرت ، كنت أذهب دائمًا للعمل مع أمي خلال الصيف لمساعدتها في إنشاء مختبر الأعمال الخاص بها في المدرسة الثانوية التي درست فيها ؛ على الرغم من أنني انتهيت من النوم على المكاتب كثيرًا من الوقت بعد أن أنهيت كل ما طلبت مني القيام به. ستكون أمي هي التي ألهمتني وألهمتني في مسيرتي المهنية. نظرًا لأنها مرت بما أمر به بالضبط ، فمن الجيد أن تكون قادرًا على التحدث معها حول ما فعلته عندما كانت تدرس. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، أنا مجرد طفل كبير في القلب ؛ فقط اسأل أيًا من طلابي ".

تتمتع السيدة ويليامز بالبهجة والتحديات في عملها. "أعظم متعة في عملي هي مقابلة الغالبية العظمى من الطلاب من خلال الفصول التي أقوم بتدريسها ، أو التقاط صور للأحداث المختلفة في Swanson ، أو تدريب فريق السباحة المذهل. التحدي الأكبر هو محاولة الحفاظ باستمرار على الأشياء التي أقوم بها في الصف مثيرة للاهتمام وذات صلة بالطلاب بناءً على الكفاءات (المعايير) التي نستخدمها من قبل الدولة في الفصول المهنية والتقنية المختلفة. " كيف تحافظ على تحفيزها وتحديها لتكون أفضل معلمة يمكن أن تكون؟ "طلابي يحفزونني ويتحدونني لأكون أفضل معلم يمكن أن أكونه. إذا كان يومًا سيئًا ، فلديهم طريقة لتحسينه ؛ سواء كان ذلك مجرد الهدوء لبضع دقائق ، أو القول ، "سيكون على ما يرام يا سيدة ويليامز ؛ هناك دائما غدا.

عندما سُئلت السيدة ويليامز عن أفكارها حول ما يجعل وظيفتها مهمة ، أجابت: "أعتقد أن فصول الأعمال والتعليم المهني والتقني ككل ، مهمة جدًا للطلاب لأننا ندرس المهارات العملية التي لها تأثير مباشر تأثير على طلابنا. في فصولنا ، لا نعلمهم المهارات الحياتية فحسب ، بل كيف يمكنهم استخدام الأشياء التي تعلموها في الفصول الأخرى في سياق الحياة الواقعية ".

ما هي النصيحة التي تقدمها السيدة ويليامز للآخرين الذين يطمحون إلى التدريس؟ "إلى أي شخص يتطلع إلى الذهاب إلى التدريس أو التدريب ، فإن أفضل نصيحة يمكنني تقديمها هي تعلم التحلي بالصبر واحترام الاختلافات. سيأخذك بعيدًا ، بغض النظر عما تقرر القيام به ".

إذا لم تكن السيدة ويليامز تقوم بالتدريس ، لكانت وظيفة أحلامها هي العمل لدى ديزني. "إذا لم أكن مدرسًا في مدرسة ، أعتقد أن الوظيفة التي أحلم بها ربما كانت العمل كعضو فريق عمل أو متخيل لديزني. أعتقد أنه سيكون أمرًا رائعًا أن أكون في أسعد مكان على وجه الأرض وأنت تشاهد الفرح والانبهار على وجوه الناس عندما يدخلون ويتحركون في الحديقة.

Teacher Tuesday – Meet Ms. Williams!

Ms. Williams

Meet Ms. Williams

Ms. Williams teaches Business and Information Technology and serves as the yearbook adviser at Swanson Middle School.  Ms. Williams has taught in the same classroom at Swanson for the past 12 years.

Born into a family of educators, Ms. Williams believes that teaching has always been in her blood.  “Ever since I was little, I wanted to be a teacher.  Both my mom and grandma were teachers, so teaching is in my blood. Growing up, I would always go in to work with my mom over the summer to help her set up her business lab at the high school she taught at; though I ended up sleeping on the desks a lot of the time after I finished whatever she told me to do.  My mom would be the one who inspired and inspires me with my career.  Since she has gone through exactly what I am going through it’s nice to be able to talk to her about what she did when she taught.  Plus, I’m just a big kid at heart; just ask any of my students.”

Ms. Williams has both joys and challenges in her job. “The greatest joy of my job is getting to meet a vast majority of the students through either the classes that I teach, taking pictures of the different events at Swanson, or coaching the amazing swim team.  The biggest challenge is constantly trying to keep the things that I do in class as interesting and relevant to the students based on what the competencies (standards) the state has us use for the different Career and Technical classes.”  How does she keep herself motivated and challenged to be the best teacher that she can be?  “My students motivate and challenge me to be the best teacher that I can be.  If I’m having a bad day, they have a way of making it better; whether it’s just being quiet for a few minutes, or saying, “It’ll be alright Ms. Williams; there’s always tomorrow.”

When asked for her thoughts on what makes her job important, Ms. Williams replied, “I think that business classes, and Career and Technical Education as a whole, are so important to students because we teach hands-on-skills that have a direct effect on our students.  In our classes we are not only teaching them life skills, but how they can use the things they learn in other classes in a real-life context.”

What advice would Ms. Williams give others aspiring to teach?  “To anyone that is looking to go into teaching or coaching, the best advice that I can give is to learn to have patience and respect for differences.  It will get you far, no matter what you decide to do.”

If Ms. Williams were not teaching, her dream job would be to work for Disney.  “If I wasn’t a schoolteacher, I think that my dream job would probably be working as a cast member or an imaginer for Disney. I think that would be so cool to be in the happiest place on Earth watching the joy and fascination on people’s faces when they enter and move around the park.