老师星期二–与斯托维尔女士见面!

斯托维尔女士

认识斯托维尔女士

Melanie Stowell在APS教授拉丁语已有11年了。 这些年来,她曾在Yorktown,Washington-Liberty,HB Woodlawn和Gunston任教,但大部分时间都在Swanson,在那里她感到自己确实是社区的一部分,住在学校附近,并育有三个孩子。近年来参加斯旺森。 与斯托维尔博士交谈过的任何人都会知道她是英国人; 尽管在美国已有近30年的历史,但她的口音却一无所获! 她来到美国在康奈尔大学(Cornell)攻读古典博士学位,后来当丈夫在阿灵顿(Arlington)工作时从纽约州搬到弗吉尼亚州。

Stowell博士热爱语言,并且很乐意一生都在不断学习新语言。 她喜欢不同语言听起来的音乐方面,以及它们语法结构中更“数学”的方面。 语言也使我们进入了不同的世界,在这里我们可以瞥见其他人如何感知和体验世界,包括生活在数千年前的人(与拉丁人一样)。 她从中学开始就学习法语和德语,并在剑桥大学发现了​​自己对古典语言的热情。 在共产主义垮台之后,她还在布拉格生活和教英语,并在那里学习捷克语。 她最近开始自学西班牙语,主要是从她在车上听的一组语言学习CD上学习。 由于她的驾驶时间在使用COVID-19时几乎没有下降,因此进展缓慢。

她也喜欢教学。 她长大了,看着学习困难的母亲补习生,并看到母亲关心每个孩子的幸福,确保他们知道自己对自己的孩子有多信任,始终将门槛定得很高,并且不要让学生卖空自己。 Stowell博士努力为她的学生做同样的事情,并且感到很幸运,因为她连续两年或三年经常与同一个小组一起授课,这使她有机会真正了解她的学生并看到他们在学习中成熟和成长。

Stowell博士考虑了她的学生以及如何最好地教给他们很多东西(老实说,可能太过诚实了,她的孩子会建议),并且很高兴与APS同事讨论具体的挑战和喜悦。 在她所工作过的所有阿灵顿学校中,她的教学中都有如此多优秀的老师,她发现了支持和创造性的思维方式。 她对新教师的建议是,寻求同事的专业和道义支持。 教学是一项非常有益的职业,但它可能会在精神上使人筋疲力尽,特别是当有一个学生无论您多么努力都无法接触时。 但是您会继续努力,并且让学生知道他们在那里,并在他们为您准备就绪时为他们做好准备。

当被问及她在APS中最自豪的时刻时,Stowell博士被迫提名一位。 每当她收到前任同学的回音时,都会感到非常自豪和高兴,但是在去年夏天,她收到了一份真正特别的礼物:一封来自她分别在7、8和9年级任教的年轻人的电子邮件,他写信给告诉她他从乔治亚大学获得生物工程学位的毕业。 电子邮件中充满了关于他的研究项目,他的新工作以及他的计划和兴趣的令人振奋的消息,其中包括这些词:“自从离开学校以来,您灌输给学生的语言和生活课程并没有使我离开您的班级……我只是想发自内心地表达您对我的教育所产生的影响,我感到非常感谢。” 像这样的电子邮件正是Stowell博士认为这是您可以拥有的最好工作之一的原因,而老实说,如果她不教书,她就无法提出自己会做的工作。 她会教并开设其他科目(包括钢琴和瑜伽),因为她喜欢分享自己热衷的一切,但看起来教书是她的职业(来自拉丁语: 声乐,“可以打电话给她,”她指出。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。

Teacher Tuesday – Meet Ms. Stowell!

Ms. Stowell

Meet Ms. Stowell

Melanie Stowell has been teaching Latin in APS for 11 years. Over those years, she has taught at Yorktown, Washington-Liberty, H-B Woodlawn, and Gunston, but she has mostly been at Swanson, where she feels truly part of the community, living close to the school and having had all three of her children attend Swanson in recent years. Anyone who has spoken to Dr. Stowell will know that she is British; despite nearly 30 years in the States, her accent isn’t going anywhere! She came to the States to do her PhD in Classics at Cornell and later moved from NY State to VA when her husband got a job here in Arlington.

Dr. Stowell loves languages and would happily just keep learning new ones all her life. She loves the musical side of how different languages sound, as well as the more “mathematical” side of their grammatical structures. Languages also open us up to different worlds, where we can get a glimpse into how other people perceive and experience the world, including (as with Latin) people who lived thousands of years ago. She started with French and German in middle school and found her passion for classical languages at Cambridge University. She also lived and taught English in Prague, just after the fall of Communism, and learned Czech while she was there. She recently started teaching herself Spanish, mostly from a set of language-learning CDs which she listens to in her car. Since her driving time has dropped to almost nothing with COVID-19, progress is slow.

She also loves teaching. She grew up watching her mother tutor students with learning difficulties and saw how much her mother cared about each child’s well-being, making sure they knew how much she believed in them, always setting the bar high and not letting her students sell themselves short. Dr. Stowell strives to do the same for her students, and feels fortunate to be teaching a subject where she often has the same group for two or three years in a row, giving her an opportunity to get to know her students really well and to see them mature and grow in their learning.

Dr. Stowell thinks about her students and how best to teach and reach them a lot (honestly perhaps too much, her children would suggest), and appreciates talking over specific challenges and joys with her APS colleagues. She has found supportive and creative thinking about teaching from so many wonderful teachers in all the Arlington schools she has worked at. Her advice to new teachers would be to reach out to colleagues for professional and moral support; teaching is a very rewarding profession, but it can be emotionally draining, especially when there is a student that you cannot reach, no matter how hard you try. But you do keep trying and you let that student know that you are there and ready for them, when they are ready for you.

When asked about her proudest moment in APS, Dr. Stowell was hard pressed to name one. Any time she hears back from a past student is a moment of great pride and delight, but this past summer, she received a truly special gift: an email from a young man she had taught in 7th, 8th and 9th grade, who wrote to tell her of his graduation from the University of Georgia with a degree in Biological Engineering. The email, full of wonderful news of his research project, his new job, and his plans and interests, included these words: “the lessons of language and of life that you instill in your students has not left my thought for a day since leaving your class…I just wanted to express from the bottom of my heart how much I appreciate the impact you have had on my education.” An email like that is exactly why Dr. Stowell feels like this is one of the best jobs you can have, and she honestly couldn’t come up with a job she’d be doing if she weren’t teaching. She would teach– and has– other subjects (piano and yoga among them), because she loves to share anything she is passionate about, but it looks like teaching is her vocation (from the Latin: vocāre, “to call,” she points out…there, see, she just can’t help herself).