老师星期二–见塞缪尔女士!

塞缪尔女士上课认识塞缪尔女士

Samuel女士是APS的11年退伍军人,在Swanson教书。 塞缪尔女士还曾在兰道夫小学任阅读专家。

塞缪尔女士最初上大学学习护理学,后来将她的专业改为教学,以便她可以教阅读。 “我从18岁起就开始从事教育工作,帮助成年人学习阅读。 我是一名中学生,就读于Orton-Gillingham Academy,这改变了我的生活。 在学院里,我制定了一些很棒的策略,这些策略曾帮助我在教堂和社区中的志愿者工作中学习。

塞缪尔女士工作的最大乐趣就是帮助他人学习和欣赏阅读和写作。 用她的话说:“交流和更好地理解他人的能力是一种天赋,可以终生识字。 最大的挑战通常是时间和资源,因为通常没有足够的时间来帮助人们学习阅读和写作。 许多人在生活中的各个时间学习阅读,这可能会延伸到成年期。 由于人们以不同的方式解锁阅读,因此资源可能并不总是可用,这会给您无限的时间和各种不同的资源,从而延迟了您的进度。

当被问及与学生一起度过一段难忘的时光时,塞缪尔女士回答说:“迄今为止,我最难忘的经历是当我教过阅读的一名成年学生继续从学校毕业,上大学并接受了她博士学位。 她目前正在与正在学习阅读的成年人一起教学和工作。 她正在继续帮助他人学习阅读和写作以促进终身学习的工作。”

塞缪尔女士喜欢旅行。 “我旅行了10多年,在日本,韩国和泰国教年轻人和专业人士。 旅行确实帮助塑造了我对学习和语言对建立理解至关重要的专业理解。 我最喜欢的小组是一群在东京的丰田工程师,他们非常有趣,也非常外向。 他们体现了团队学习的方法,这有助于我更好地磨练合作学习的技能。 我最大的成就是在北卡罗来纳大学教堂山分校的一个项目中,在中国北京呆了一个学期,学习中国历史和书法。”

塞缪尔女士目前正在阅读 克莱门汀夫人 玛丽·本尼迪克特(Marie Benedict)。

Teacher Tuesday – Meet Ms. Samuel!

Ms. Samuel in classMeet Ms. Samuel

An 11-year veteran with APS, Ms. Samuel teaches reading here at Swanson.  Ms. Samuel also served as a Reading Specialist at Randolph Elementary School.

Ms. Samuel originally attended college to study nursing and later changed her major to teaching so that she could teach reading.  “I started working in education when I was 18 years old helping adults learn to read. I had attended Orton-Gillingham Academy as a middle school student, and it changed my life.  In the academy I developed some great strategies which I used to help others learn during my volunteer work at my church and in the community.

The greatest joy of Ms. Samuel’s job is helping others to learn and appreciate reading and writing.  In her words, “The ability to communicate and better understand others is a gift offers a lifetime of literacy. The biggest challenges are often time and resources, in that often there is not enough time allotted to help people learn to read and write. Many people learn to read at various times in their life and that may extend well into adulthood. Because people unlock reading in different ways, resources may not always be available which delays the progress you might make if you were given unlimited time and a variety of different resources.”

When asked about a memorable moment with a student that made her career, Ms. Samuel responded, “My most memorable experience thus far is when a former adult student who I taught to read went on to graduate from school, attend college, and receive her doctoral degree. She is currently teaching and working with adults who are also learning to read. She is continuing the work of helping others learn to read and write to promote lifelong learning.”

Ms. Samuel loves to travel.  “I traveled for more than 10 years teaching young adults and professionals in Japan, Korea, and Thailand. Travel really helped to shape my professional understanding of how learning and language are essential to building understandings. My favorite group was a group of Toyota engineers in Tokyo who were so much fun and very outgoing. They embodied the team learning approach which helped me better hone my skills in cooperative learning. My greatest achievement was spending a semester in Beijing, China learning about Chinese history and calligraphy through a program at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.”

Ms. Samuel is currently reading Lady Clementine by Marie Benedict.