老師星期二–與Rauseo女士見面!

Rauseo女士和家人

見Rauseo女士

Rauseo女士曾是美國航空公司的國際乘務員和語言翻譯,目前教授法語,並擔任世界語言部主席。 她是法國斯旺森俱樂部的共同發起人。

當被問到什麼使外語係對學生很重要時,Rauseo女士分享了《經濟學人》的引文, “ [法國]文化以高雅,品質和形式而著稱:高級時裝*裙上的精美手工縫製; 糕點*窗口中排列著無暇的釉面tar aux framboises *。 生活藝術*仍然是宏偉的姿態和小小的偷來的樂趣的源泉。”  Rauseo女士相信,“ l語言為世界其他信仰系統打開了一個窗口,有助於消除只有一種方式是 正常。 此外,語言可以促進同理心,並在日常生活中採取更加開放的態度。 法語教育鼓勵學生尋求 生活情趣* or “小偷的樂趣” 在他們的日常工作中。”

Rauseo女士最有影響力的導師是她的學生。 “一個坐立不安的學生在桌子上敲鉛筆,讓我知道我需要在課程中加入更多的動作。 成就卓越的人可以提前10分鐘完成自定進度的活動,這表示我應該添加擴展程序。 除了我的學生,我的小女孩每天都在激勵著我。 在學習方面,她讓我想起了講故事和玩遊戲的力量。”

Rauseo女士的工作既充滿喜悅又充滿挑戰。 “我工作的最大樂趣是看著學生與課程建立個人聯繫。 聽到學生在唱法語歌曲的歌詞。 或者,看著學生熱情地描述巴黎法語班的紀念碑*! 我最大的挑戰是在每個學生中,特別是在大班……午餐後,建立這種聯繫。” 😉

如果Rauseo女士不教書,她會怎麼做? “我將成為Janet Jackson的替補舞蹈演員,自從1986年以來,我一直想著這個角色。否則我將成為英語和法語兒童讀物的作者和插畫家。 我會根據我和丈夫和女兒的旅行來寫故事,所有的事情都會有虛構的法國風味,比恩·蘇爾*!

Rauseo女士認為工作人員使APS特別。 “ APS鼓勵教師之間的創作自由,而我的同事們是令人難以置信的支持來源。 當我們需要更多空間來製作縐紗和拼字遊戲時,Hailey女士一直歡迎我上課。 雷先生始終確保我們擁有所需的用品。 每年,體育部門都與我共享Pétanque(法國Bocce Ball)的設備。 我和Perrot先生調換了考試,以確保獲得公平的評分。 在我們的日常午餐中,我的世界語言同事公開分享資源和新技術。 Zekan女士會為您提供這兩者之間的一切幫助。 當事情變得很艱難時,諾里斯先生會喝一杯普通的英式茶。 這些時刻浮現在腦海,但我每天與許多其他特殊的人互動,使我的工作變得有意義,更不用說我的學生了。 在這個新的虛擬環境中,我的同事們繼續激勵著我! 在過去的幾個月中,我從他們身上學到了很多東西。 呼應珍妮特·傑克遜(Janet Jackson)的話:“世界[老師]團結。 數字上的力量,我們可以做到正確。”

Teacher Tuesday – Meet Ms. Rauseo!

Ms. Rauseo and Family

Meet Ms. Rauseo

A former International Flight Attendant & Language Translator for US Airways, Madame Rauseo currently teaches French and serves as the World Languages Department Chair.  She is co-sponsor of The Swanson Club de Français.

When asked what makes the Foreign Language Department important for students, Ms. Rauseo shared a quote from The Economist, “[French] culture delights in elegance, quality and form: the exquisite hand-stitching on the haute-couture* dress; the immaculately glazed tartes aux framboises* lined up in the pâtisserie* window. The art de vivre* remains a source of both grand gestures and small stolen pleasures.”  Ms. Rauseo believes, “languages open a window to other belief systems around the world, helping to eliminate the idea that only one way is normal. Additionally, languages promote empathy and a more open-minded approach to daily life.  French education encourages students to seek joie de vivre* or “small stolen pleasures” in their everyday routines.”

Ms. Rauseo’s most influential mentors are her students.  “A fidgety student tapping a pencil against a desk lets me know that I need to incorporate more movement into the lesson.  The high achiever who completes a self-paced activity 10 minutes early indicates that I should add an extension. In addition to my students, my little girl inspires me every day.  When it comes to learning, she reminds me about the power of storytelling and play.”

Ms. Rauseo has both joys and challenges in her job.  “The greatest joy of my job is watching students make personal connections to the curriculum.   It’s hearing a student sing the lyrics to a French song. Or, watching a student passionately describe a Paris monument to the class en Français*! My greatest challenge is fostering those connections in every student, especially in large group classes…after lunch.”  😉

What would Ms. Rauseo do if she were not teaching?  “I would be a backup dancer for Janet Jackson, a role I’ve been prepping for in my mind, since 1986.  Otherwise I’d be an author and illustrator of children’s books in English and French. I’d write stories based on travels with my husband and daughter, and everything would have a fictional French twist, bien sûr*!”

Ms. Rauseo feels that the staff makes APS special.  “APS encourages creative freedom among teachers, and my colleagues are incredible sources of support. Ms. Hailey has always welcomed my classes into the library when we needed extra space for crêpe making and floor scrabble. Mr. Ray always ensured that we had the supplies we needed.  Every year, the PE department has shared equipment with me for Pétanque (French Bocce Ball). Mr. Perrot and I swap exams to ensure fair grading. At our daily lunches, my world language colleagues openly share resources and new technology. Ms. Zekan helps with everything in between.  And when the going gets really rough, Mr. Norris makes a mean cup of English tea.  These moments come to mind, but there are many other special people that I interact with daily that make my work meaningful, not to mention my students.  In this new virtual environment, my colleagues continue to inspire me! I have learned so much from them in the last few months. To echo Janet Jackson, “[teachers] of the world unite. Strength in numbers, we can get it right.”