老师星期二–与Pennington女士见面

彭宁顿女士认识Pennington女士Pennington女士是APS一年级六年级科学老师,她来自密苏里州圣路易斯,在过去的七年中担任六年级科学老师。

彭宁顿女士在退休母亲的幼儿园上度过了很多时间后,对教学产生了浓厚的兴趣。 她对科学的热爱来自另一个来源。 “我对科学的热爱是由我的高中解剖老师激发出来的,他总是努力确保我们的课程吸引并与我们的高中经历相关。”

我们向Pennington女士询问了她在COVID-19大流行期间对教学的想法,她回答道:“这次创造了学习许多新事物的空间。 技术始终向老师介绍,但从未真正需要。 COVID-19使得逃脱技术途径成为不可能。 如前所述,我在母亲的教室里度过了很多时间,很遗憾,在COVID-90之前,19年代的许多教育习惯还是一样。 在这场大流行中,我们的国家遭受了灾难性的破坏; 但是,我尽力保持正面,同时了解这只是暂时的。” Pennington女士通过记住教学是她的生计来保持动力。 “如果我想享受它,我需要确保我的课程更新且有趣。”

潘宁顿女士一天的学习取得了学生们的进步,这是通过社交媒体得知的。 “我的第一批学生现在是大学二年级学生(y!)。一个经常挑战我的程序和行为系统的学生通过社交媒体与我联系,分享了她正在攻读科学教育专业。 她说,随着她在教育事业中的进步,她意识到我已经将结构和科学批判性思维技能灌输给了她。”

Teach for America的执行董事Brittany Packnett-Cunningham是一位启发Pennington女士的领导人。 “在我和布列塔尼一起在圣路易斯期间,她向我展示了另一个来自圣路易斯的黑人妇女可以用武力和美丽来对抗教育上的不平等。 我很欣赏布列塔尼(Brittany)在对话中表现出来并保持对布莱克方言真实的能力,并在看起来如此美妙的同时传达有意义的教训。”

彭宁顿女士希望学校外的父母/人们知道或理解老师也可以是父母。 “我深深地爱着我的女儿,有时候我觉得布兰克太太本该为孩子做一些不同的事情,但是由于我是一名老师,我很快就想起了布兰克太太的学生人数是X 。 我了解父母每天都会向我们发送我/她一生的爱,只希望对他们有最好的帮助,但是请理解,作为父母/老师,我永远不会做任何事情来忽略他们的个人需求。 有时候,我会做出最适合我大多数学生的决定。”

如果Pennington女士不教书,她会怎么做? “我很想成为一名全职书法家,领导书法课–我想这仍在教授; 我无法逃脱。

彭宁女士目前正在阅读 什么不会杀死你让你更黑,作者Damon Young。 “这是对种族主义的常见遭遇以及黑人如何优雅地驾驭这些场所的一种滑稽的方法。”

Teacher Tuesday – Meet Ms. Pennington

Ms. PenningtonMeet Ms. Pennington  Ms. Pennington, a first-year 6th grade science teacher for APS, comes to us from St. Louis, Missouri where she taught as a 6th grade science teacher for the past seven years.

Having spent a lot of time in her retired mother’s kindergarten class, Ms. Pennington grew to have a love for teaching.  Her love for science came to her from another source.  “My love for Science was sparked by my high school anatomy teacher who always went above to ensure our lessons were engaging and relatable to our high school experience.”

We asked Ms. Pennington for her thoughts on teaching during the COVID-19 pandemic to which she replied, “This time has created space to learn so many new things. Technology has always been presented to teachers, but never truly required.  COVID-19 has made it impossible to escape the pathways of technology.  As mentioned before, I spent a great amount of time in my mother’s classroom and unfortunately a lot of education practices from the 90’s are/were still the same before COVID-19.  It is devastating how our country is suffering during this pandemic; however, I try to remain positive while understanding this is only temporary.”  Ms. Pennington keeps herself motivated by remembering that teaching is her livelihood.  “If I want to enjoy it, I need to make sure my lessons are updated and fun.”

A student’s progress that has made Ms. Pennington’s day came to her via social media.  “My first students are now sophomores in college (yikes!) One student who often challenged my procedures and behavior systems reached out to me via social media to share that she was majoring in Science Education. She stated that as she progressed in her educational career, she realized that I had instilled structure and scientific critical thinking skills within her.”

Brittany Packnett-Cunningham, Executive Director of Teach for America was a leader who inspired Ms. Pennington. “During my time in St. Louis while working with Brittany, she showed me that another Black woman from St. Louis could fight educational inequity with force and beauty. I admire Brittany’s ability to show up in conversations and remain authentic to her Black dialect and relay a meaningful lesson all while looking so fabulous.”

Ms. Pennington would like for parents/people outside the school to know or understand that teachers can also be parents.  “I love my daughters deeply and there have been moments where I have felt that Mrs. Blank should’ve done something differently specifically for my child, but because I am a teacher, I am quickly reminded Mrs. Blank also has X number of students. I understand that parents are sending us/me the loves of their lives every day and only want the best for them, but please understand that as a parent/teacher, I would never do anything to ignore their individual needs.  Sometimes, I make decisions which are best for the majority of my students.”

What would Ms. Pennington be doing if she were not teaching?  “I would love to be a full-time calligrapher, leading calligraphy classes – I guess that’s still teaching; I can’t escape it lol.”

Ms. Penning is currently reading What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Blacker, by Damon Young.   “It’s a hilarious approach to common encounters of racism and how Black people have navigated these spaces with grace.”