老师星期二–与Meet女士见面!

帕特里奇女士认识帕特里奇女士

Partridge女士是APS的22年数学教练兼数学老师。 她在APS的整个职业生涯中都曾在Swanson工作。 她描述了自己22年的经验,他说:“虽然教师的一般职位描述保持不变,但多年来发生了很多变化。 最大的变化将必须是技术的使用-当我刚开始时,老师无法使用计算机。 现在,甚至在大流行前,教师和学生都应定期使用技术。 但是,从根本上没有改变的是工作中最重要的部分-学生。 虽然我们的教室每年都有不同的学生,并且有独特的需求和挑战,但是每年教给学生的总体乐趣仍然是不变的。 我从不厌倦地帮助学生获得新知识和新知识。 在秋季,对于学生来说似乎如此困难的一项技能在春季成为第二自然,因为学生利用该概念来解决新的难题。 我也喜欢在教室外与学生互动。 我期待每个学年的课外活动,其中包括教练课程和MathCounts,以及与NP女士一起参加切萨皮克湾过夜实地考察。

帕特里奇女士以前曾在德勤会计师事务所(Deloitte&Touche)担任高级审计经理和注册会计师(CPA)。 “虽然我享受工作中的技术挑战以及与同事的互动,但我却不喜欢这份工作的销售方面。 我已经准备好改变步伐,并希望每天做一些更具影响力的事情。 当时我在周末定期参加KEEN(儿童畅享运动)志愿活动,无论工作一周的压力如何,我都希望与孩子们互动。 我也很喜欢会计工作的教学内容,当我被授予奖学金去马里兰大学获得教育学硕士学位时,我做出了决定! 我从来没有后悔过这个决定(26年后,我仍然在KEEN Greater DC担任志愿者)。”

帕特里奇女士将为每个人提供以下建议:“为自己设定一些有意义的目标,这些目标涉及可操作的项目。 我记得设定并遵循的第一个目标是基于我高中法语老师的一项任务。 在9年级时,我们必须创建前往欧洲的旅行路线,并研究位置,交通,餐厅,旅馆等。我和一个朋友决定,我们想真正地旅行。 在接下来的三年多的时间里,我们从高中毕业后就节省了工作成本,并制定了前往欧洲的物流计划。 从那时起,我一直喜欢旅行。 当我在Deloitte&Touche工作时,我设定了一个目标,使其有资格申请公司交流计划,并最终在澳大利亚从事了几个月的交流工作。 我也喜欢在本地旅行,并且多次开车穿越美国和加拿大边境,主要是露营和远足。 从这些旅行中,我在每个州(除3个州外-拜访他们都是我的目标清单!),和每个省份都睡过。 我喜欢远足,而照片是我在山顶的。 坦桑尼亚的乞力马扎罗山。”

帕特里奇女士的主要读物与教学或新闻有关,但她也很喜欢阅读。 “我刚吃完 爱尔兰乡村 帕特里克·泰勒(Patrick Taylor)撰写,这是1960年代有关爱尔兰普通医生的系列丛书中的第二本书。 我床头柜上的第三本书已经准备好开始😊。”

“当我考虑退休时想要做什么时,我想到了一个有趣的“工作”主意。 我可以成为远足度假的考验旅行者。 我不知道这是否真的存在,但是我认为随着旅游公司整理出新的远足路线,我很乐意对其进行测试并提供反馈!”

Teacher Tuesday – Meet Ms. Partridge!

Ms. PartridgeMeet Ms. Partridge

Ms. Partridge is a 22-year math coach and math teacher with APS.  She has been at Swanson during her entire career with APS.  She describes her 22-year experience as follows, “While the general job description of a teacher remains the same, there have been many changes over the years.   The biggest change would have to be technology use – when I first started teachers did not have access to computers.   Now, even pre-pandemic, regular use of technology by teachers and students is expected.   But what has not fundamentally changed is the most important part of the job – the students.   While there are different students in our classrooms each year, and there are unique needs and challenges, the general joy of teaching students remains a constant from year to year.  I never tire of helping students gain access to new knowledge and understanding.   A skill that seemed so difficult to students in the fall becomes second nature by the spring as the students utilize the concept to solve new and harder problems.   I also enjoy interacting with students outside of the classroom.   Coaching track and MathCounts, as well as participating in the Chesapeake Bay overnight field trip with Ms. N-P, are extracurriculars I look forward to each school year.”

Ms. Partridge previously worked as a senior audit manager and certified public accountant (CPA) at Deloitte & Touche.  “While I enjoyed the technical challenges of my job and my interactions with co-workers, the sales side of the job was not something I enjoyed.   I was ready for a change of pace and looking to do something that was more impactful on a day to day basis.  At the time I was volunteering regularly on the weekends with KEEN (Kids Enjoy Exercise Now) and no matter how stressful the work week had been, I looked forward to interacting with the kids.  I had also enjoyed the teaching aspects of my accounting job and when I was awarded a fellowship to go to the University of Maryland to get a Master’s in Education my decision was made!   I have never regretted that decision (and 26 years later I still volunteer with KEEN Greater DC).”

Ms. Partridge would give the following advice to everyone, “Set some meaningful goals for yourself which involve actionable items on your part.  One of the first goals that I remember setting and following through on was based on an assignment from my high school French teacher.   In 9th grade, we had to create a travel itinerary to Europe and research the locations, transportation, restaurants, hostels, etc.  A friend and I decided that we wanted to actually take the trip.   Over the next three plus years we saved money from our jobs and worked out the logistics to travel to Europe after we graduated from high school.   I have enjoyed traveling ever since.  When I worked for Deloitte & Touche, I set a goal to be eligible for and apply to the company exchange program and ended up working in Australia for several months on an exchange.  I like traveling locally as well and have driven across the US and Canada border several times primarily camping and hiking.  From those travels I have slept in every state (except for 3 – it is on my goal list to visit them!), as well as in every province.   I enjoy hiking and the picture is of me on the top of Mt. Kilimanjaro in Tanzania.”

Ms. Partridge’s main reading is either related to teaching or news, but she also enjoys reading for pleasure too.  “I just finished An Irish Country Village by Patrick Taylor, which is the second book in a series about an Irish general doctor in the 1960’s.  The third book in on my night table ready to be started 😊.”

“As I ponder what I might want to do when I retire from teaching, I came up with a fun “job” idea.  I could be a test traveler for hiking vacations.   I don’t know if it’s actually a job that exists, but I thought that as tour companies put together new hiking itineraries, I would be happy to test them out and provide feedback!”