المعلم الثلاثاء - لقاء السيدة بارتريدج!

السيدة بارتريدجقابل السيدة بارتريدج

السيدة بارتريدج هي مدربة رياضيات لمدة 22 عامًا ومعلمة رياضيات في وكالة الأنباء الجزائرية. لقد كانت في Swanson طوال حياتها المهنية مع APS. تصف تجربتها التي تبلغ 22 عامًا على النحو التالي ، "بينما يظل الوصف الوظيفي العام للمعلم كما هو ، فقد حدثت العديد من التغييرات على مر السنين. يجب أن يكون أكبر تغيير هو استخدام التكنولوجيا - عندما بدأت لأول مرة لم يكن لدى المعلمين إمكانية الوصول إلى أجهزة الكمبيوتر. الآن ، حتى ما قبل الوباء ، من المتوقع استخدام التكنولوجيا بانتظام من قبل المعلمين والطلاب. ولكن ما لم يتغير جوهريًا هو أهم جزء في الوظيفة - الطلاب. في حين أن هناك طلابًا مختلفين في فصولنا الدراسية كل عام ، وهناك احتياجات وتحديات فريدة ، فإن الفرح العام بتعليم الطلاب يظل ثابتًا من عام إلى آخر. لا أتعب أبدًا من مساعدة الطلاب في الوصول إلى معرفة وفهم جديدين. أصبحت المهارة التي بدت صعبة للغاية للطلاب في الخريف طبيعة ثانية بحلول الربيع حيث يستخدم الطلاب المفهوم لحل المشكلات الجديدة والأصعب. أستمتع أيضًا بالتفاعل مع الطلاب خارج الفصل الدراسي. إن مسار التدريب و MathCounts ، بالإضافة إلى المشاركة في رحلة ميدانية ليلية في خليج تشيسابيك مع السيدة NP ، هي أمور لا منهجية أتطلع إليها في كل عام دراسي ".

عملت السيدة بارتريدج سابقًا كمديرة تدقيق أول ومحاسبة عامة معتمدة (CPA) في Deloitte & Touche. "بينما استمتعت بالتحديات الفنية لعملي وتفاعلاتي مع زملائي في العمل ، لم يكن جانب المبيعات في الوظيفة شيئًا استمتعت به. كنت على استعداد لتغيير السرعة وأتطلع إلى القيام بشيء يكون أكثر تأثيرًا على أساس يومي. في الوقت الذي كنت أتطوع فيه بانتظام في عطلات نهاية الأسبوع مع KEEN (تمتع الأطفال بالتمرين الآن) وبغض النظر عن مدى الضغط الذي كان عليه أسبوع العمل ، كنت أتطلع إلى التفاعل مع الأطفال. لقد استمتعت أيضًا بالجوانب التعليمية لعملي المحاسبي وعندما حصلت على زمالة للذهاب إلى جامعة ماريلاند للحصول على درجة الماجستير في التعليم ، اتخذت قراري! لم أندم أبدًا على هذا القرار (وبعد 26 عامًا ما زلت أتطوع مع KEEN Greater DC) ".

ستقدم السيدة بارتريدج النصيحة التالية للجميع ، "حدد بعض الأهداف ذات المغزى لنفسك والتي تتضمن عناصر قابلة للتنفيذ من جانبك. كان أحد الأهداف الأولى التي أتذكر وضعها ومتابعتها بناءً على مهمة من مدرس اللغة الفرنسية في المدرسة الثانوية. في الصف التاسع ، كان علينا إنشاء مسار رحلة إلى أوروبا والبحث عن المواقع ووسائل النقل والمطاعم والنزل وما إلى ذلك. قررت أنا وصديق أننا نرغب في القيام بالرحلة بالفعل. على مدار السنوات الثلاث التالية ، وفرنا المال من وظائفنا وعملنا على توفير الخدمات اللوجستية للسفر إلى أوروبا بعد تخرجنا من المدرسة الثانوية. لقد استمتعت بالسفر منذ ذلك الحين. عندما عملت لدى Deloitte & Touche ، حددت هدفًا أن أكون مؤهلاً لبرنامج تبادل الشركة والتقدم إليه وانتهى بي الأمر بالعمل في أستراليا لعدة أشهر في التبادل. أحب السفر محليًا أيضًا وقد قدت السيارة عبر حدود الولايات المتحدة وكندا عدة مرات في المقام الأول للتخييم والمشي لمسافات طويلة. من بين تلك الرحلات ، نمت في كل ولاية (باستثناء 9 - من قائمة أهدافي أن أزورها!) ، وكذلك في كل مقاطعة. أنا أستمتع بالمشي لمسافات طويلة والصورة لي على قمة جبل. كليمنجارو في تنزانيا ".

تتعلق القراءة الرئيسية للسيدة بارتريدج بالتدريس أو الأخبار ، ولكنها تستمتع أيضًا بالقراءة من أجل المتعة. "انتهيت للتو قرية الريف الأيرلندية بقلم باتريك تايلور ، وهو الكتاب الثاني في سلسلة عن طبيب عام أيرلندي في الستينيات. الكتاب الثالث في طاولتي الليلية جاهز للبدء 😊 ".

"بينما أفكر فيما قد أفعله عندما أتقاعد من التدريس ، خطرت لي فكرة" وظيفة "ممتعة. يمكن أن أكون مسافرًا تجريبيًا لقضاء إجازات التنزه. لا أعرف ما إذا كانت هذه وظيفة موجودة بالفعل ، لكنني اعتقدت أنه مع قيام الشركات السياحية بوضع مسارات جديدة للمشي لمسافات طويلة ، سأكون سعيدًا باختبارها وتقديم التعليقات! "

Teacher Tuesday – Meet Ms. Partridge!

Ms. PartridgeMeet Ms. Partridge

Ms. Partridge is a 22-year math coach and math teacher with APS.  She has been at Swanson during her entire career with APS.  She describes her 22-year experience as follows, “While the general job description of a teacher remains the same, there have been many changes over the years.   The biggest change would have to be technology use – when I first started teachers did not have access to computers.   Now, even pre-pandemic, regular use of technology by teachers and students is expected.   But what has not fundamentally changed is the most important part of the job – the students.   While there are different students in our classrooms each year, and there are unique needs and challenges, the general joy of teaching students remains a constant from year to year.  I never tire of helping students gain access to new knowledge and understanding.   A skill that seemed so difficult to students in the fall becomes second nature by the spring as the students utilize the concept to solve new and harder problems.   I also enjoy interacting with students outside of the classroom.   Coaching track and MathCounts, as well as participating in the Chesapeake Bay overnight field trip with Ms. N-P, are extracurriculars I look forward to each school year.”

Ms. Partridge previously worked as a senior audit manager and certified public accountant (CPA) at Deloitte & Touche.  “While I enjoyed the technical challenges of my job and my interactions with co-workers, the sales side of the job was not something I enjoyed.   I was ready for a change of pace and looking to do something that was more impactful on a day to day basis.  At the time I was volunteering regularly on the weekends with KEEN (Kids Enjoy Exercise Now) and no matter how stressful the work week had been, I looked forward to interacting with the kids.  I had also enjoyed the teaching aspects of my accounting job and when I was awarded a fellowship to go to the University of Maryland to get a Master’s in Education my decision was made!   I have never regretted that decision (and 26 years later I still volunteer with KEEN Greater DC).”

Ms. Partridge would give the following advice to everyone, “Set some meaningful goals for yourself which involve actionable items on your part.  One of the first goals that I remember setting and following through on was based on an assignment from my high school French teacher.   In 9th grade, we had to create a travel itinerary to Europe and research the locations, transportation, restaurants, hostels, etc.  A friend and I decided that we wanted to actually take the trip.   Over the next three plus years we saved money from our jobs and worked out the logistics to travel to Europe after we graduated from high school.   I have enjoyed traveling ever since.  When I worked for Deloitte & Touche, I set a goal to be eligible for and apply to the company exchange program and ended up working in Australia for several months on an exchange.  I like traveling locally as well and have driven across the US and Canada border several times primarily camping and hiking.  From those travels I have slept in every state (except for 3 – it is on my goal list to visit them!), as well as in every province.   I enjoy hiking and the picture is of me on the top of Mt. Kilimanjaro in Tanzania.”

Ms. Partridge’s main reading is either related to teaching or news, but she also enjoys reading for pleasure too.  “I just finished An Irish Country Village by Patrick Taylor, which is the second book in a series about an Irish general doctor in the 1960’s.  The third book in on my night table ready to be started 😊.”

“As I ponder what I might want to do when I retire from teaching, I came up with a fun “job” idea.  I could be a test traveler for hiking vacations.   I don’t know if it’s actually a job that exists, but I thought that as tour companies put together new hiking itineraries, I would be happy to test them out and provide feedback!”