المعلم الثلاثاء - لقاء السيدة باسيفيكو!

قابل السيدة باسيفيكو!

عملت السيدة باسيفيكو مع وكالة الأنباء الجزائرية لمدة 13 عامًا في مناصب مختلفة. عملت في واشنطن ليبرتي كمدرس للرياضيات ومدرب هوكي ميداني ، ومتخصص في الرياضيات في المكتب المركزي لـ APS ، وتقوم حاليًا بتدريس الهندسة المكثفة وما قبل الجبر هنا في Swanson.

يعد العمل مع مجموعات متنوعة من الطلاب والتعرف عليها أحد أفراح وظيفة السيدة باسيفيكو. "كان لدي طالب في برنامج الإنجليزية قبل بضع سنوات كان ذكيًا جدًا ولكنه لا يتحدث الإنجليزية. كانت عاملة مجتهدة للغاية وأرادت أن تدرس مادة الجبر 1 في الصف الثامن لكنها لم تستوف الشروط. لقد دافعت عنها لأخذ الدورة. لم تنجح فقط ، بل حصلت على A ، اجتازت SOL واستمرت في Geometry و Alg. 8 وهو يعمل الآن بشكل جيد جدًا في PreCalc ".

عندما سُئلت عما ساعد خارج الفصل الدراسي في تشكيلها أو إلهامها كمعلمة ، أجابت السيدة باسيفيكو ، "أكبر تأثير عليّ خارج الفصل الدراسي هو عائلتي. كانت والدتي طبيبة نفسية في المدرسة وعملت في مجلس إدارة المدرسة في مقاطعتها - وهي شغوفة جدًا بالتعليم. هذا الشغف معدي. مراقبة أطفالي يتقدمون في المدرسة - تؤثر أيضًا إبداءات الإعجاب / عدم الإعجاب على ما أفعله في الفصل ".

الدكتور جيمس فاي UMD ومؤلف كتاب Connected Math هو قائد ألهم السيدة باسيفيكو. "لقد كان أستاذ الرياضيات الوحيد الذي استخدم استراتيجيات تعليمية غير التعليمات المباشرة. قام بتدريس الطريقة التي يعلمنا بها أساتذة التربية كيفية التدريس ".

كانت السيدة باسيفيكو ستختار مهنة معالج طبيعي إذا لم تكن تقوم بالتدريس. "أستمتع بالنشاط - ممارسة الرياضة والجري وما إلى ذلك. كما أستمتع بالعمل مع الآخرين ومساعدة الآخرين. يبدو أن PT سيكون مزيجًا جيدًا من الاثنين ".

كتاب السيدة باسيفيكو المفضل هو "حكاية الخادماتبقلم مارجريت أتوود.

Teacher Tuesday – Meet Ms. Pacifico!

Meet Ms. Pacifico!

Ms. Pacifico has been with APS for 13 years in a variety of positions.  She has served at Washington-Liberty as a math teacher and field hockey coach, as a math specialist in the APS central office, and is currently teaching intensified geometry and pre-algebra here at Swanson.

Working with and getting to know diverse groups of students is one of the joys of Ms. Pacifico’s job.  “I had an EL student a few years ago who was very bright but spoke no English.  She was a very hard worker and wanted to take Algebra 1 in 8th grade but did not meet the requirements.  I advocated for her to take the course.  She not only passed, but earned an A, passed the SOL and continued onto Geometry and Alg. 2 and is now doing very well in PreCalc.”

When asked what outside the classroom has helped shape or inspire her as a teacher, Ms. Pacifico replied, “The biggest influence on me outside of the classroom is my family.  My mother was a school psychologist and served on the school board for her county – she is very passionate about education.  That passion is contagious.  Observing my children progressing through school – their likes/dislikes also influence what I do in the classroom.”

Dr. James Fey of UMD and author of Connected Math is a leader who inspired Ms. Pacifico.  “He was the only math professor that used instructional strategies other than direct instruction.  He taught the way the education professors were teaching us to teach.”

Ms. Pacifico would choose a career of a physical therapist if she were not teaching.  “I enjoy being active – playing sports, running etc. I also enjoy working with other people and helping other people.  PT seems like it would be a good combination of the two.”

Ms. Pacifico favorite book is “The Handmaids Tale” by Margaret Atwood.