المعلم الثلاثاء - لقاء السيدة مكماهون!

السيدة مكماهون والطفل!

قابل السيدة مكماهون

السيدة مكماهون هي مدرسة دراسات اجتماعية مخضرمة تبلغ من العمر 11 عامًا. كانت السيدة مكماهون ، الأدميرال الحقيقي لسوانسون ، تدرس في سوانسون طوال حياتها المهنية. نشأت في أرلينغتون وتخرجت من APS.

قامت السيدة مكماهون بتسمية العديد من المعلمين الذين ألهموها وأحدثوا فرقًا في حياتها المهنية. "أنا محظوظ لأنني حصلت على Renee Harber و Bridget Loft كمديرين مساعدين في بداية مسيرتي المهنية ثم مديرين في وقت لاحق. كلاهما مثالان رائعان على الاهتمام والقيادة القوية. لقد كنت محظوظًا أيضًا لأنني تلقيت إرشادًا من كاثي هيكس ، وهي معلمة ومشرفة دراسات اجتماعية رائعة ، كانت لديها دروس واستراتيجيات تفاعلية. لقد عملت في فريق مع Debbie Neuhaus-Palmer طوال 11 عامًا. لديها علاقة رائعة مع الطلاب ".

عندما سُئلت كيف أصبحت السيدة مكماهون مهتمة بالتعليم ، أجابت ، "لقد أحببت التعلم دائمًا واستمتعت بزيارة المتاحف والأماكن التاريخية خلال نشأتي. كنت ألعب "المدرسة" عندما كنت طفلاً وأحب أشياء مثل American Girl Dolls المرتبطة بالتاريخ ".

إن أعظم متعة في وظيفة السيدة مكماهون هي رؤية الطلاب يجرون اتصالات أو يتوصلون إلى وجهات نظر بأنفسهم. التحدي الأكبر هو أن الدراسات الاجتماعية بها الكثير من المحتوى ، ولكن وقت تدريسها محدود. "الدراسات الاجتماعية مهمة جدًا لأنها تعلم الطلاب عن العالم من حولهم. كما تعلم كيفية الدفاع عن نفسك والآخرين لبناء مجتمع أكثر عدلاً للجميع ".

ستقدم السيدة مكماهون النصائح التالية لمن يطمحون في أن يكونوا في دور مماثل. "كن مرنا وكن إيجابيا. اليوم التالي دائمًا يوم جديد ويمكنك ابتكار أفكار جديدة لحل المشكلات التي تظهر. تأكد من مساعدة الآخرين واطلب المساعدة عند الحاجة ".

حقائق ممتعة عن السيدة مكماهون ، "لقد عزفت الترومبون في فرقة المسيرة في المدرسة الثانوية ولكني لم أعزف منذ بضع سنوات. أنا معجب من مواطني واشنطن (حتى قبل فوزهم ببطولة العالم). أنا أحب هاري بوتر وأحب دائمًا عندما يخبرني الناس بمنزل هوجورتس ".

Teacher Tuesday – Meet Ms. McMahon!

Ms. Mcmahon and child!

Meet Ms. McMahon

Ms. McMahon is an 11-year veteran APS social studies teacher.  A true Swanson Admiral, Ms. McMahon has been teaching at Swanson for her entire career.   She grew up in Arlington and graduated from APS.

Ms. McMahon named several educators who have inspired her and who have made a difference in her career.  “I am lucky that I have had Renee Harber and Bridget Loft as both assistant principals early in my career and then principals later. They both are great examples of caring and strong leadership.  I also was lucky to be mentored by Cathy Hix a fabulous Social Studies teacher and supervisor who had engaging lessons and strategies.  I have worked on a team with Debbie Neuhaus-Palmer for all 11 years.  She has a great connection with students.”

When asked how Ms. McMahon became interested in education she replied, “I always loved learning and enjoyed visiting museums and historical places growing up.  I would play “school’ when I was a kid and loved things like American Girl Dolls that connected to history.”

The greatest joy of Ms. McMahon’s job is to see students make connections or come up with perspectives on their own.   The biggest challenge is that social studies has a lot of content, but a limited time to teach it.  “Social Studies is so important because it teaches students about the world around them.  It also teaches how to advocate for yourself and others to make a more just society for everyone.”

Ms. McMahon would give the following advice to those aspiring to be in a similar role.  “Be flexible and be positive.  The next day is always a new day and you can come up with new ideas to solve problems that arise.  Make sure to help others and ask for help when needed.”

Fun facts about Ms. McMahon, “I played trombone in the marching band in high school but have not played in a few years.  I am a Washington Nationals fan (even before they won the World Series).  I love Harry Potter and I always love when people tell me their Hogwarts House.”