老师星期二–与琼斯女士见面!

琼斯女士

见琼斯女士

琼斯女士教7年级和8年级的特殊教育数学,她在APS的四年级。 琼斯女士认为,她作为特殊教育老师的角色对于学习需求多样化的学生至关重要。 “能够教给我的学生长处,并想出办法改善他们的弱点是我工作的重要部分。 我的任务是确保他们在课堂内外都能取得成功,因为这与社交,情感和学术技能有关。”

琼斯女士的姐姐兼托马斯·杰斐逊中学校长Keisha Bogan启发了琼斯女士。 她的坚韧,诚实和对学生成功的承诺体现在她的领导风格中。 每当我需要专业建议或想分享有关教学实践的想法时,她就是我所说的少数人之一。 “

当被问及她如何对从事教育工作感兴趣时,琼斯女士回答说:“与孩子们一起工作是我十几岁以来最喜欢的事情。 我在教学之前的工作经验包括保姆,娱乐主管和营地顾问。 但是当我在大学加入Americorps计划时,我对教学的热情就增强了。 我曾在弗吉尼亚州里士满市的Title I小学工作,帮助一年级和二年级的学生应对阅读挑战。 在这段时间里,我爱上了帮助他人以及与教学有关的学习过程。”

即使喜欢教学,琼斯女士也确实在工作中面临着欢乐和挑战。 “过去两年来,我很高兴能教同一批学生,看着他们成熟,今年学业取得了成功,这让我感到自豪。 考虑到他们的兴趣在不断变化,挑战在于如何让学生对当今社会的学习充满热情和兴奋。”

琼斯女士如果不教书怎么办? “我很想成为一个聚会筹办者。 我喜欢为聚会提出构想或主题,并看到构想和主题变为现实。 在过去的两年中,我已经计划过生日聚会,新娘送礼和婴儿送礼会。 做花束,中间件和气球拱门是我最喜欢的爱好。”

Teacher Tuesday – Meet Ms. Jones!

Ms. Jones

Meet Ms. Jones

Ms. Jones teaches 7th and 8th grade Special Education math and is in her 4th year with APS.  Ms. Jones feels that her role as a special education teacher is critical for students who have diverse learning needs. “Being able to teach to my student’s strengths and come up with ways to help improve their weakness is a huge part of my job.  Making sure they are successful inside and outside the classroom as it relates to social, emotional and academic skills is my mission.”

Keisha Bogan, sister to Ms. Jones and the Principal at Thomas Jefferson Middle School inspires Ms. Jones.  “Her tenacity, honesty and commitment to student success is apparent in her leadership style. Anytime I need professional advice or want to share thoughts and ideas about instructional practices she’s one of the few people I call. “

When asked how she became interested in working in education, Ms. Jones replied, “Working with kids is something I’ve enjoyed since my teenage years.  My work experience before teaching included babysitting, recreation leader and camp counselor.  But when I joined the Americorps Program in college my passion for teaching developed.  I worked at Title I elementary school in Richmond, VA helping 1st and 2nd grade students with reading challenges.  During this time, I fell in love with helping others and the learning process as it relates to teaching students.”

Even with the love of teaching, Ms. Jones does face joys and challenges in job.  “I’ve had the pleasure of teaching the same group of students for the past two years and watching them mature and experience academic success this year makes me proud. A challenge is keeping students engaged and excited about learning in today’s society considering their interests are constantly changing.”

What would Ms. Jones be doing if she were not teaching?  “I would love to be a party planner. I enjoy coming up with a vision or theme for a party and seeing that vision and theme come to life. Over the past two years I’ve planned birthday parties, bridal showers and baby showers. Making bouquets, center pieces and balloon arches are some of my favorite hobbies.”