المعلم الثلاثاء - لقاء السيدة هوتو

هوتو 2قابل السيدة هوتو

السيدة هوتو معلمة تربية خاصة عملت في وكالة الأنباء الجزائرية على مدى السنوات الـ 18 الماضية. السيدة هوتو هي أيضًا متقاعدة حديثة مع شركة جاب حيث عملت لمدة 30 عامًا تقريبًا. قد تتفاجأ عندما علمت أن السيدة هوتو عملت منذ سن 16 عامًا ، وكانت خبيرة في الرماية في فريق البندقية في المخيم الصيفي ، وأنها كانت تمتلك حصانًا ، "لقد بدأت الركوب في سن الثامنة"

السيدة هوتو كانت دائما معنية بالأطفال. "خلال طفولتي ، كان لديّ أشقاء صغار اعتنيت بهم ، ومع تقدمي في السن ، أمضيت سنوات مراهقتي في مجالسة الأطفال. في التاسعة عشرة من عمري ، بعد سنوات عديدة من العمل كمستشار في المخيم ، بدأت العمل بدوام كامل لدفع طريقي إلى الكلية في GapKids، Inc. بصفتي مساعد مبيعات. عملت في طريقي حتى وصلت إلى Store Manager مع 19 موظفًا في فريقي حيث كان تركيزنا الأساسي يتركز حول الأطفال. كان العمل مع الأطفال والشباب جزءًا من حياتي منذ البداية ".

تلعب السيدة Hutto دورًا حيويًا في Swanson. "أعمل مع جميع الطلاب في Swanson ولديهم مجموعة من القدرات والمواهب المتعددة. أعمل على تقديم رؤية منعشة للتنوع للطلاب والموظفين على حدٍ سواء بأمانة والتزام بتوقعات عالية لجميع الطلاب ".

"كل عام لدي طلاب يعودون ليقولوا شكرًا لك وإعادة الاتصال. هذه دائمًا لحظات تجعل مهنتي التعليمية جديرة بالاهتمام. هناك العديد من الطالبات اللواتي ما زلت على اتصال بهن جعلت نجاحاتي مسيرتي المهنية جديرة بالاهتمام. إحداهما في مدرسة طب الأسنان ، وواحدة اتبعت خطى وحصلت على درجة الماجستير في التعليم ، واثنتان بدأتا عائلات جميلة يمكنني مشاهدتها وهي تنمو إن رغبة هؤلاء الطلاب في البقاء على اتصال لفترة طويلة بعد مغادرتهم للأبواب في Swanson ، يجعلني متحمسًا لمواصلة إجراء تلك الروابط المهمة ".

عندما سئلت السيدة هوتو عن أفكارها حول التدريس أثناء جائحة COVID-19 ، أجابت: "كان التدريس خلال COVID-19 صعبًا لعدة أسباب ؛ ومع ذلك ، فقد أصبحت أقرب إلى طلابي وعائلاتهم بطرق لم أتخيلها أبدًا وأنا ممتن لها حقًا ".

لقد ألهم أكثر من قائد السيدة هوتو في مسار حياتها المهنية. "كان هناك عدد قليل من مديرات المناطق القويات لديّ ثروة للعمل في وقت مبكر من حياتي المهنية عندما كنت بين سن 19-25. أصبح أسلوب قيادتهم الشخصية وإحساسهم بالإرشاد والاستقلال فلسفة تبنتها بنفسي بسرعة. لقد علموني كيفية التدريس ، والسقالات ، والتدريب ، وكذلك كيفية بناء سبل التعاون والتواصل التي تسير في كلا الاتجاهين. أواصل استخدام هذه الاستراتيجيات بنجاح مع طلابي اليوم ".

تقدم السيدة هوتو النصائح التالية للمعلمين الطموحين. "أود أن أقول ، ادخل إلى الميدان وجربه أولاً ؛ اذهب الظل شخص ما. كل عام لدي طلاب يعودون ويطلبون الظل أو القيام بتجربة عليا أو التطوع للعمل في صفي معي. أنا صادق معهم للغاية حتى يتمكنوا من رؤية ما سيكون عليه الأمر بأن تكون مدرسًا ، والعمل الجاد بالإضافة إلى المكافآت ".

Teacher Tuesday – Meet Ms. Hutto

Hutto2Meet Ms. Hutto

Ms. Hutto is a special education teacher who has worked for APS for the past 18 years.  Ms. Hutto is also a recent retiree with Gap, Inc. where she worked for almost 30 years.   You might be surprised to learn that Ms. Hutto has worked since the age of 16, was an expert sharpshooter on the rifle team at summer camp, and that she used to own a horse, “I began riding at age 8.”

Ms. Hutto has always been involved with children.  “During my childhood, I had young siblings that I took care of and as I grew older, I spent my young teen years babysitting.  At 19, after many years as a camp counselor, I began working full time to pay my way through college at GapKids, Inc. as a sales associate. I worked my way up to Store Manager with 50 employees on my team where our primary focus was centered around kids. Working with children and young adults has been a part of my life since the beginning.”

Ms. Hutto plays a vital role at Swanson.  “I work with all the students at Swanson and they have a range of abilities and multiple talents.  I work to bring a refreshing vision of diversity to the students and staff alike with my honesty and commitment to high expectations for all students.”

“Every year I have students who come back to say thank you and reconnect.  These are always moments that make my teaching career worthwhile. There are several female students that I keep in touch with whose successes have made my career worthwhile.  One is in dental school, one followed in my footsteps and got her master’s degree in education, and two have started beautiful families that I get to watch grow. Having these students wish to stay connected long after they have left the doors at Swanson, keeps me motivated to keep making those important connections.”

When asked for her thoughts on teaching during the COVID-19 pandemic Ms. Hutto responded, “Teaching during COVID-19 has been difficult for a variety of reasons; however, I have grown closer to my students and their families in ways that I could never have imagined for which I am truly grateful.”

More than one leader has inspired Ms. Hutto in her career path.  “There were a handful of strong women district managers I had the fortune of working under early on in my career when I was between the ages of 19-25.  Their personal leadership style, sense of mentorship, and independence became a philosophy I quickly adopted myself.  They taught me how to teach, scaffold, coach, as well as how to build collaboration and communication avenues that go both ways.  I continue to utilize these strategies successfully with my students today.”

Ms. Hutto gives the following advice to aspiring teachers.  “I would say, get in the field and try it out first; go shadow someone.  Every year I have students who come back and ask to shadow, do a senior experience, or volunteer to work in my classroom with me.  I am very authentic with them so they can see firsthand what it would be like to be a teacher, the hard work as well as the rewards.”