老师星期二–与Hutto女士见面

小屋2认识Hutto女士

Hutto女士是一位特殊的教育老师,在过去18年中一直为APS工作。 Hutto女士最近还是Gap,Inc.的退休人员,在该公司工作了近30年。 得知Hutto女士从16岁起就工作过,他是夏令营步枪队的专业神枪手,并且她曾经拥有一匹马,“我从8岁开始骑马”,您可能会感到惊讶。

Hutto女士一直与孩子们在一起。 “在我的童年时期,我照顾着年轻的兄弟姐妹,随着年龄的增长,我在年轻的时候就开始保姆。 在担任营地顾问多年后的19岁,我开始全职工作,以销售助理的身份在GapKids,Inc.上大学。 我的团队中有50名员工,后来晋升为商店经理,我们的主要重点是孩子们。 自成立以来,与儿童和年轻人合作​​一直是我生活的一部分。”

Hutto女士在Swanson扮演着至关重要的角色。 “我与Swanson的所有学生一起工作,他们拥有各种能力和多种才能。 我本着诚实和对所有学生寄予厚望的承诺,努力为学生和教职员工带来全新的多元化愿景。”

“每年我都有一些学生回来说谢谢并重新建立联系。 这些时刻总是让我的教学事业值得的时刻。 我与几位女学生保持着联系,他们的成功使我的事业值得。 一个人在牙科学校学习,一个人跟随我的脚步获得了她的教育学硕士学位,另外两个人开始了我成长的美丽家庭。 让这些学生在离开Swanson后很长时间就能保持联系,这使我有动力继续建立这些重要的联系。”

当被问及在COVID-19大流行期间对教学的想法时,赫托女士回答说:“出于各种原因,在COVID-19期间进行教学一直很困难; 但是,我以我无法想象的方式与学生及其家人更加亲近,对此我深表感激。”

一位以上的领导人启发了赫托女士的职业生涯。 “有少数强大的女性地区经理,在我19-25岁之间的职业生涯早期,就有幸在公司工作。 他们的个人领导风格,指导精神和独立性成为我很快采纳的一种哲学。 他们教我如何教书,脚手架,教练,以及如何建立通向双向的协作和交流渠道。 今天,我将继续与我的学生一起成功地运用这些策略。”

Hutto女士向有抱负的老师提供以下建议。 “我会说,先进入实地并尝试一下; 去影子某人。 每年我都有学生回来,要求他们暗中进行,进行高级学习或自愿与我一起在教室里工作。 我对他们非常真诚,因此他们可以亲眼看到成为一名老师的感觉,辛勤的工作以及获得的回报。”

Teacher Tuesday – Meet Ms. Hutto

Hutto2Meet Ms. Hutto

Ms. Hutto is a special education teacher who has worked for APS for the past 18 years.  Ms. Hutto is also a recent retiree with Gap, Inc. where she worked for almost 30 years.   You might be surprised to learn that Ms. Hutto has worked since the age of 16, was an expert sharpshooter on the rifle team at summer camp, and that she used to own a horse, “I began riding at age 8.”

Ms. Hutto has always been involved with children.  “During my childhood, I had young siblings that I took care of and as I grew older, I spent my young teen years babysitting.  At 19, after many years as a camp counselor, I began working full time to pay my way through college at GapKids, Inc. as a sales associate. I worked my way up to Store Manager with 50 employees on my team where our primary focus was centered around kids. Working with children and young adults has been a part of my life since the beginning.”

Ms. Hutto plays a vital role at Swanson.  “I work with all the students at Swanson and they have a range of abilities and multiple talents.  I work to bring a refreshing vision of diversity to the students and staff alike with my honesty and commitment to high expectations for all students.”

“Every year I have students who come back to say thank you and reconnect.  These are always moments that make my teaching career worthwhile. There are several female students that I keep in touch with whose successes have made my career worthwhile.  One is in dental school, one followed in my footsteps and got her master’s degree in education, and two have started beautiful families that I get to watch grow. Having these students wish to stay connected long after they have left the doors at Swanson, keeps me motivated to keep making those important connections.”

When asked for her thoughts on teaching during the COVID-19 pandemic Ms. Hutto responded, “Teaching during COVID-19 has been difficult for a variety of reasons; however, I have grown closer to my students and their families in ways that I could never have imagined for which I am truly grateful.”

More than one leader has inspired Ms. Hutto in her career path.  “There were a handful of strong women district managers I had the fortune of working under early on in my career when I was between the ages of 19-25.  Their personal leadership style, sense of mentorship, and independence became a philosophy I quickly adopted myself.  They taught me how to teach, scaffold, coach, as well as how to build collaboration and communication avenues that go both ways.  I continue to utilize these strategies successfully with my students today.”

Ms. Hutto gives the following advice to aspiring teachers.  “I would say, get in the field and try it out first; go shadow someone.  Every year I have students who come back and ask to shadow, do a senior experience, or volunteer to work in my classroom with me.  I am very authentic with them so they can see firsthand what it would be like to be a teacher, the hard work as well as the rewards.”