المعلم الثلاثاء - لقاء السيدة هوتسيل

السيدة هوتسيلقابل السيدة هوتسيل

السيدة هوتسيل هي معلمة علوم بالصف السادس تعمل مع وكالة الأنباء الجزائرية منذ 6 عامًا. حصلت على شهادة المجلس الوطني وتم الاعتراف بها من قبل مجلس مدرسة APS لإنجازها.

تنسب السيدة هوتسيل الفضل في عملها في وكالة التدريس أثناء التحاقها بمدرسة يوركتاون الثانوية ، مما أثار اهتمامها بالتدريس. "لقد سألوني في مقابلتي إذا كنت أرغب في أن أصبح مدرسًا. قلت بأي حال من الأحوال. ما زالوا وظّفوني وها أنا اليوم! " خلال مسيرتها التدريسية ، وجدت السيدة هوتسيل أن أعظم متعة في وظيفتها هي مشاهدة الطلاب وهم يتعلمون ويحققون أشياء لم يعتقدوا أنها ممكنة. تقول السيدة هوتسيل: "في أي وقت يريد الطالب أن يصبح مدرسًا (خاصة مدرسًا للرياضيات أو العلوم) ، لقد تم تحقيق يومي وسنة ومهنتي!"

سألنا السيدة هوتسيل كيف تحافظ على حماسها وتحديها لتكون أفضل معلمة يمكن أن تكون. وقالت في إجابتها: "أرلينغتون مليئة بالمعلمين الرائعين. يتحداني زملائي لتجربة استراتيجيات جديدة ، والتفكير خارج الصندوق ، وإبقائي خبيرًا في التكنولوجيا ". تشعر السيدة هوتسيل أن أسلوب تدريسها مهم لأن "العلم يشرح العالم من حولنا! إنها كيف ولماذا تعمل الأشياء بالطريقة التي تعمل بها ".

شيء خارج هذا الفصل الدراسي شكل السيدة هوتسيل كمعلمة هو إنجاب ابنتها. "لقد أحببت التدريس ، ولكن منذ أن أنجبت ابنتي ، جعلتني أقدر الطلاب كأفراد رائعين. أنت الأفضل في كونك أنت. أنت الخبير. لا أحد يستطيع فعل ذلك! "

ستقدم السيدة هوتسيل النصيحة التالية لأي شخص يطمح لأن يصبح مدرسًا ، "دع الناس يعرفون أهدافك حتى يتمكنوا من مساعدتك في ذلك من خلال إعطائك خبرات قيادية."

Teacher Tuesday – Meet Ms. Hutsell

Ms. HutsellMeet Ms. Hutsell

Ms. Hutsell is a 6th grade science teacher who has been with APS for 13 years.  She has earned her National Board Certification and has been recognized by the APS School Board for her accomplishment.

Ms. Hutsell credits her work at a tutoring agency, while attending Yorktown High School, with stimulating her interest in teaching.  “They asked me in my interview if I wanted to become a teacher.  I said no way.  They still hired me and here I am today!”  During her teaching career Ms. Hutsell has found that the greatest joy of her job is watching students learn and achieve things they didn’t think possible.    Ms. Hutsell states, “Anytime a student shares they want to become a teacher (especially a math or science teacher), my day, year, and career have been made!”

We asked Ms. Hutsell how she keeps herself motivated and challenged to be the best teacher she can be.  In answer she stated, “Arlington is filled with amazing teachers.  My peers challenge me to try new strategies, think outside the box, and keep me tech savvy.”  Ms. Hutsell feels that her line of teaching is important because, “Science explains the world around us! It’s how and why things work the way they do.”

Something outside that classroom that has shaped Ms. Hutsell as a teacher is having her daughter.  “I’ve loved teaching, but since having my daughter, she has made me appreciate students as wonderful individuals. You are the best at being you. You’re the expert.  No one else can do it!”

Ms. Hutsell would give the following advice to anyone aspiring to become a teacher, “Let people know your goals so they can help get you there by giving you leadership experiences.”