المعلم الثلاثاء - لقاء السيدة جومبوس!

السيدة جومبوس ونافورةقابل السيدة جومبوس

السيدة جومبوس هي مدرس رياضيات في السنة الثالثة هنا في Swanson. تدرس كلاً من الرياضيات 6 وما قبل الجبر 6/7/8. السيدة جومبوس هي مدربة كرة السلة للطالبات الجدد ومساعدة مدرب كرة القدم للفتيات في مدرسة واشنطن ليبرتي الثانوية.

يشكر الأستاذ / جومبوس والدها على حبها للعمل مع الطلاب. عمل والدها كمدرس ومسؤول على مستوى المدرسة الإعدادية والثانوية. لطالما كانت تتطلع للسير على خطاه. "كان والدي دائمًا قدوتي في العالم الأكاديمي من خلال دوره كمعلم ومسؤول ومدرب. لقد سعيت دائمًا لأكون معلمًا رائعًا مثله لأنني رأيت التزامه تجاه طلابه ولاعبيه. لقد كان يدفع طلابه دائمًا لتحقيق العظمة ليس فقط في الفصل الدراسي ، ولكن في العالم وآمل أن أفعل الشيء نفسه لطلابي! "

عندما سُئلت عن سبب شعورها بأن دورها مهم بالنسبة لوكالة الأنباء الجزائرية ، أجابت السيدة جومبوس ، "إن دوري كمدرس رياضيات في APS مهم للغاية نظرًا لمقدار الرياضيات المستخدمة في حياتنا اليومية. أحب أن أستطيع إجراء اتصالات بالرياضيات التي يتعلمها طلابي للأشياء التي يرونها كل يوم أحبها أكثر عندما يتمكن طلابي من إجراء هذه الروابط بأنفسهم! زملائي في الصف السادس ومدرب الرياضيات رائعون في العمل معهم وجعل التخطيط للدروس أمرًا سهلاً ومشاركة جميع الطلاب الذين أعتقد أنه مهم للغاية ".

هناك مباهج وتحديات في وظيفة السيدة جومبوس. "أعظم متعة في وظيفتي هي القدرة على إقامة علاقات وبناء علاقات مع طلابي. أحب أن أفعل ذلك كل عام مع مجموعة جديدة من الطلاب ، مع الاستمرار في ذلك مع طلابي من السنوات السابقة. سواء كانت هذه العلاقات مبنية على حبنا المشترك للرياضيات أو كرة القدم أو الاهتمامات المشتركة الأخرى ، فأنا أحب أن أتعلم المزيد عن طلابي كل عام! التحدي الأكبر في وظيفتي هو موازنة وقتي بين التدريس والتدريب لكرة السلة وكرة القدم ، ودراستي حيث إنني مسجّل حاليًا في كلية الدراسات العليا لأصبح في النهاية مديرًا. في بعض الأيام ، يبدو أنه لا يوجد وقت كافٍ في اليوم ، لكنني دائمًا أجعل الأمر يعمل! "

السيدة جومبوس لديها نصائح لأولئك الذين يطمحون إلى التدريس. "نصيحتي للمعلمين المستقبليين هي المشاركة في أقرب وقت ممكن في أدوار مماثلة للتدريس إذا أمكنك ذلك. إنني أعزو استعدادي لبدء التدريس على الفور إلى تجاربي مع أدوار التدريس الخاصة بطلابي ودوري كمساعد ترفيهي صيفي في KidsPeace. لا أعلم أنني كنت سأكون على استعداد للتقدم في الفصل لولا تلك التجارب المباشرة ".

حقيقة ممتعة عن السيدة جومبوس ، "سأتزوج من خطيبي ، كيسي ، هذا الصيف في بلايا موخيريس بالمكسيك وأنا متحمس جدًا!"

Teacher Tuesday – Meet Ms. Gombos!

Ms. Gombos and a fountainMeet Ms. Gombos

Ms. Gombos is a third-year math teacher here at Swanson.  She teaches both math 6 and Pre-Algebra 6/7/8.  Ms. Gombos is the freshman head basketball coach and assistant varsity girls’ soccer coach at Washington-Liberty High School.

Ms. Gombos has her father to thank for her love of working with students.  Her father worked as both a teacher and an administrator at both the middle school and high school level.  She always aspired to follow in his footsteps.  “My father was always my role model in the academic world with his role as a teacher, administrator, and coach.  I always strived to be as great of a teacher as he was because I could see his commitment to his students and players.  He always pushed his students to achieve greatness not only in the classroom, but in the world and I hope to do the same for my students!”

When asked why she feels her role is important to APS Ms. Gombos replied, “My role as a math teacher in APS is extremely important because of how much math is used in our everyday lives. I love that I can make connections to the math my students are learning to things they see each day I love even more when my students can make those connections themselves!  My colleagues in 6th grade and my math coach are fantastic to work with and make planning lessons easy and engaging for all students which I think is so important.”

There are both joys and challenges in Ms. Gombos’ job.  “The greatest joy of my job is being able to make connections and build relationships with my students.  I love that each year I can do that with a new group of students, while also continuing that with my students from previous years.  Whether those relationships are built from our shared love of math, soccer, or other common interests I love getting to learn more about my students each year!  The biggest challenge of my job is balancing my own time between teaching, coaching basketball and soccer, and my studies as I am currently enrolled in graduate school to eventually become an administrator.  Some days it seems like there isn’t enough time in the day, but I always make it work!”

Ms. Gombos has advice for those aspiring to teach. “My advice for future teachers would be to get involved as early as possible with roles similar to teaching if you can.  I credit my readiness to begin teaching right away to my experiences with my student teaching roles and my role as a summer recreational aide at KidsPeace.  I don’t know that I would have been as ready to hit the ground running in the classroom had it not been for those firsthand experiences.”

A fun fact about Ms. Gombos, “I am getting married to my fiancé, Casey, this summer in Playa Mujeres, Mexico and I am so excited!”