老师星期二–见亲爱的女士!

达琳女士认识达令女士

Darling女士是一位西班牙老师,曾从费尔法克斯县公立学校(Fairfax County Public Sc​​hools)进入APS。 她已经任教11年了。 Darling女士于2019年夏季完成了教育领导力硕士学位。Darling女士在西班牙的巴伦西亚和哥斯达黎加的曼努埃尔·安东尼奥都曾出国学习,并且喜欢旅行,尤其是在可以使用西班牙语的地方。 “我中学时就开始学习西班牙语,并有热情的西班牙语老师让学习新语言变得有趣。”

达令女士将家人对教育的兴趣归功于她的家人。 “我是第三代老师。 我的祖母教了1年的一年级,我的母亲教了小学高年级,并最终成为了一名小学校长。 我的姐姐在小学里教了30年,然后和孩子们全职待在家里。”

当被问到是谁激发了她的灵感时,达令女士回答说:“我妈妈激发了我不仅要教书,而且要考虑担任学校校长。 我仍然向她寻求专业意见和指导。 她始终竭尽所能,做到公正,具有反思性,并根据对学生最有利的方式做出决定。”

达令女士喜欢教所有年级的学生。 “与6年级,7年级和8年级的学生合作,为每个年龄段的学生带来了不同的欢乐和挑战。 我喜欢六年级学生的热情,对于他们中的很多人来说,这是他们第一次接触西班牙语。 对于我的6年级和7年级学生来说,西班牙语8是他们可以在初中学习的第一批高中学分之一,因此我希望他们在学习过程中有一定的责任心和奉献精神,同时仍会保持语言的玩味和创造力。”

达令女士喜欢阅读谜题和惊悚小说。 她的一些最爱是 然后她走了, 女孩在火车Crawdads唱的地方.

Teacher Tuesday – Meet Ms. Darling!

Ms. DarlingMeet Ms. Darling

Ms. Darling is a Spanish teacher who came to APS from Fairfax County Public Schools.  She has been teaching for 11 years.  Ms. Darling completed her master’s degree in Education Leadership in the summer of 2019.  Ms. Darling studied abroad in both Valencia, Spain, and Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica and loves to travel especially where she can use her Spanish-language skills.  “I started to learn Spanish when I was in middle school and had enthusiastic Spanish teachers who made learning a new language fun.”

Ms. Darling credits her family for her interest in education.  “I am a third-generation teacher. My grandma taught 1st grade for 30 years, my mom taught upper-elementary grades and eventually became an elementary school principal. My older sister taught elementary school for 10 years before staying home full-time with her children.”

When asked who inspires her Ms. Darling replied, “My mom has inspired me to not only teach, but to consider stepping into a school-based administrator role. I still go to for her for advice and guidance professionally. She always did her best to be fair, reflective, and make decisions based on what was best for the students.”

Ms. Darling enjoys teaching all grade levels.  “Working with 6th, 7th, and 8th grade students offer different joys and challenges with each age group. I love how enthusiastic my 6th graders are, as for a lot of them, it is their first exposure to the Spanish language. With my 7th and 8th graders, Spanish 1 is one of the first high school credit classes that they can take in middle school, so I expect a certain level of responsibility and dedication to their studies while still being playful and creative with the language.”

Ms. Darling loves reading mysteries and thrillers. Some of her favorites are Then She was Gone, The Girl on the Train, and Where the Crawdads Sing.