老师星期二–与柯克伦女士见面!

科科兰女士认识柯克伦女士

Corcoran女士是一位14年的资深艺术老师,自1996年以来一直在APS担任各种职务。“我对教育的兴趣是我从未想过要达到今天的旅程。 我对学习的热爱使我重返教育,并回馈了下一代的孩子们。”

小迪恩·凯勒(Deane Keller)是一位领导者,在科科伦女士的职业生涯中发挥了重要作用。 “戴恩(Deane)是我遇到的第一位美术老师,他以极大的爱,热情和卓越来教授美术。 我记得他在绘画班上时,他轻轻地走近我,当时他磨了藤炭,问他是否可以对我的艺术说几句话。 帮助我之后,他递给我一些我需要的用品,并说我可以保留它们。 他的善意使我想起了奉献。 他对艺术的热情来自父亲,父亲是我的祖父的亲密朋友。

当被问及工作中最大的乐趣和挑战时,Corcoran女士回答说:“我最大的乐趣是释放了绘画,绘画和雕刻的能力。 我喜欢引导学生激发他们对艺术的热情,并帮助他们实现解决问题,批判性思维和创造力的乐趣。 每天,当学生们坚持不懈地完成似乎引以为傲的艺术品时,我感到非常高兴。 我最大的挑战是写这本老师简介。”

“每天,当学生们看着自己的作品并说他们从未想到自己能做到这一点时,我感到很自豪。 我的学生每年都赢得比赛,这肯定了他们的成长和才华。 每年,约有75-90%的艺术作品获得“国家学术艺术奖”(美国最古老的艺术比赛),并获得“荣誉奖”,“银奖”和/或“金奖”。 提交的内容几乎来自所有形式的媒体和主题。 所有金钥匙都将继续在全国范围内进行评审。”

“近年来,我的三个学生获得了国家学术艺术奖的国家级奖项。 这三名8年级学生正在与7-12年级的美术专业学生竞争,全国有330,000多个参赛作品,只有3,300个被接受。”

Corcoran女士在COVID-19大流行期间的教学思想。 “在COVID-19期间的教学帮助我反思了自己作为美术老师的理念,并忠于我的信念:在我促进,启发和指导他们的过程中,学生需要追求自己对激情的追求。 然后,即使经过多次尝试和失败,学生仍会激发自己创作出引以为傲的艺术品。 我的学生继续在在线平台上选择自己的风格,技术,主题,媒体,这对我来说非常重要。”

Corcoran女士将向有志教书的人提供以下建议。 “我建议任何有抱负的美术老师继续成为课堂之外最好的艺术家。 在教室里,准备好倾听,观察和相信每个学生的能力。 找到那个可以释放学生兴趣,能力和才华的钥匙,您将找到非常有益的生活。”

Teacher Tuesday – Meet Ms. Corcoran!

Ms CorcoranMeet Ms. Corcoran

Ms. Corcoran is a 14-year veteran art teacher who has worked in various roles within APS since 1996.  “My interest in education was a journey that I never thought would reach me where I am today. My love of learning brought me back to education and giving back to our kids, the next Generation.”

Deane Keller Jr. is a leader who made a difference in Ms. Corcoran’s career.  “Deane was the first art teacher whom I met who taught art with great love, passion and excellence. I remember him in a figure drawing class as he gently came up to me as he sharpened his vine charcoal and asked if he could say some words about my art. After helping me, he handed me some supplies that I needed and said that I could keep them. His gesture of kindness reminds me to give. His passion for the arts came from his father who was a Monuments Man in World War ll while being a close friend of my grandfather.”

When asked about her greatest joys and challenges of the job Ms. Corcoran replied, “My greatest joy is unlocking the ability on how to draw, paint, and sculpt. I enjoy guiding students into their passion in the arts and helping them realize the joy of problem solving, critical thinking, and creativity. Daily, I rejoice when a student perseveres through what might seem like a failure into a work of art that they are proud of. My biggest challenge is writing this teacher blurb.”

“Every day I am proud when a student looks at their artwork and says that they never thought they could do that. My students win competitions yearly which affirms their growth and their talent. Yearly, about 75-90% of the art submissions to the National Scholastic Art Awards (the oldest art competition in the Nation) win an Honorable Mention, Silver and/or Gold Key. The submissions vary from almost all forms of media and subject matter. All Gold Keys move on to further jurying on a National Level.”

“In recent years, three of my students won on a National Level from the National Scholastic Art Awards. Those three 8th Graders were competing against 7-12th Grade Art Students with over 330,000 submissions nationwide and only 3,300 were accepted.”

Ms. Corcoran’s thoughts on teaching during the COVID-19 pandemic.  “Teaching during COVID-19 helped me reflect on my philosophy as an art teacher and remain true to my beliefs: a student needs to pursue what they are passionate about as I facilitate, inspire, and guide them. A student will then motivate themselves to create a work of art that they are proud of even after multiple attempts and failures. My students continue to choose their own style, technique, subject matter, media on the online platform and that is very important to me.”

Ms. Corcoran would give the following advice to those aspiring to teach.  “I advise any aspiring art teacher to continue to be the best artist that they can be outside of the classroom. Inside the classroom, be prepared to listen, observe, and believe in each of your students’ abilities. Find that key which unlocks your students’ interests, abilities, and talents, and you will find a very rewarding life.”