老师星期二–见赵老师!

赵Bitmoji女士见见赵小姐

邱女士曾在APS任职16年,她是斯旺森大学的阅读专家和主要英语语言老师。 在任职APS期间,邱女士还曾在霍夫曼波士顿小学和甘斯顿中学任职。 邱女士还曾与AmeriCorps合作,并在中国北京和香港的大学教授英语。

网球是邱女士最喜欢的运动。 “大多数人都知道我吃饭,睡觉和喝网球。 这是我唯一会玩的运动之一。 我喜欢参与竞争的策略和团队合作。 目前,我因受伤回到了这项运动。 “

邱女士是我家中年龄最大的,留下她来照顾年幼的兄弟姐妹和堂兄。 “一旦我学会了说英语和读英语,我就会回到家并经营一间“一室校舍”,教我的年轻家庭成员字母和在学校的行为。”

当被问及她如何保持积极性时,邱女士回答说:“尤其是在这些不确定的时期,教学可能会感到压力很大。 通过与家人保持联系,与同事不断合作以及与学生和家人建立关系,我保持动力。 在收集学生反馈(亲自或虚拟)时,我可以修补课程以提高理解和参与度。 我还通过参与在线教学社区来了解最新的书名和最佳实践。 我的目标是每周阅读一本书,并计划在XNUMX月的NaNoWriMo(国家小说写作月)挑战赛和XNUMX月的“人生片段”每日博客挑战赛中写作。 这些经验帮助我真正地了解了成为一名学生的感觉,并且在找出提高自己的读写能力的方法时,我可以成为一名更有效的阅读和写作老师。”

是什么让邱女士过得愉快? 大流行前,当学生再次访问时,我绝对喜欢它。 这些惊喜的遭遇会让我感到高兴,因为我必须听到这些令人惊叹的年轻人对他们自中学毕业后的成长进行反思。 现在,欢乐比以往任何时候都更加隐藏在我们彼此之间的联系中。 虚拟学校可能具有挑战性,但我为我们可以分享和联系的不同和创造性的方式感到鼓舞,例如与家犬约会或欣赏学生作品。 我为我的学生的力量和韧性而感到自豪。”

邱女士将向有志于担任类似职务的人士提供以下建议:“成为一个专注的倾听者,具有开放的胸怀,并把错误当作学习和成长的机会。”

Teacher Tuesday – Meet Ms. Chiu!

Ms. Chiu BitmojiMeet Ms. Chiu

Employed for the past 16 years with APS, Ms. Chiu is a reading specialist and the lead English Language Arts teacher at Swanson.  During her tenure with APS Ms. Chiu has also worked at Hoffman Boston Elementary School and Gunston Middle School.  Ms. Chiu also worked with AmeriCorps and taught English at universities in Beijing, China, and Hong Kong.

Tennis is Ms. Chiu’s favorite sport.  “Most people know that I eat, sleep, and drink tennis. It is one of the only sports I know how to play.  I love the strategy and teamwork involved in competition.  Currently I am coming back to the sport from an injury. “

Ms. Chiu was the oldest in her in my family, leaving her to help take care of her younger siblings and her cousins.  “Once I learned how to speak and read English, I would come home and run a “one room schoolhouse,” teaching my younger family members the alphabet and how to behave in school.”

When asked how she keeps herself motivated Ms. Chiu replied, “Teaching can be stressful especially during these uncertain times. I stay motivated by staying connected with my family, continually collaborating with colleagues, and building relationships with students and families. In gathering student feedback (in person or virtually), I can tinker lessons to improve understanding and engagement. I also stay up to date with current book titles and best practices by participating in online teaching communities. I aim to read a book a week and plan to write in November’s NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) challenge and March’s Slice of Life daily blogging challenge.   These experiences help me truly understand how it feels to be a student, and in figuring out ways to improve my own literacy, I can be a more effective reading and writing teacher.”

What makes Ms. Chiu’s day? “​Pre-pandemic, I absolutely loved it when students came back to visit.  These surprise encounters ​would make my day because I got to hear these amazing young people reflect on how they have grown since middle school.  Now more than ever, joy hides in the connections we make with one another.  Virtual school can be challenging, but I am heartened by the different and creative ways we can share and connect, like meeting the family dog or enjoying student artwork.  I am so proud of my students for their strength and resilience.”

Ms. Chiu would give the following advice to those aspiring to be in a similar role, “Be an attentive listener with an open mind and own up to and approach mistakes as opportunities to learn and grow.”