老师星期二–拜伦女士见面

贝伦斯女士拜伦女士见面

Behrens女士是一位七年级英语语言老师,过去六年一直在Swanson的APS任职。

教学在贝伦斯女士的家人中进行。 她的妈妈曾担任五年级老师二十年,至今仍在劳登县担任行政管理人员。 “将学校当作“老师的孩子”来体验一下,确实可以改变您对从事该职业的工作量和爱心的看法。 她告诉我,教学不仅是课程计划和分级,它还建立了牢固的关系(她去年参加了她以前的五年级学生的婚礼之一!)并为学校内外的学生提供支持。”

贝伦斯女士和7年级英语小组互相授课。 他们共同计划所有单元,并尝试创建将孩子和学生放在首位的课程。 “有时候这意味着混合我们的课程,以便我们可以区分,而有时则意味着将我们的课程合并在一起,以便我们可以共同教某些概念。 我一直感到支持以灵活的方式进行教学,以最好地满足学生的需求。 我认为这是我们学校/地区的特殊之处。”

当被问到什么使她保持动力时,贝伦斯女士回答说:“我的同事是我最大的动力来源。 我非常感谢我每天都有一支出色的CLT和7年级团队。 与我一起工作的每个人都教给我一些新知识和/或以某种方式挑战我,使我走出舒适地带。 有时,教学可能会感到孤立,尤其是当您刚开始时。 在Swanson的这些年里,我一直很幸运能与支持团队的成员一起工作,如果没有他们的指导和帮助,我将不会成为今天的我的老师。”

贝伦斯女士的工作最大的乐趣和挑战是什么? “我的教学最大的乐趣是,在个人层面认识学生,并看着他们随着学生和个人的成长而成长。 我面临的最大挑战是在上课日/学年的时间范围内找到满足每个学生及其个人需求的时间。”

如果贝伦斯女士不教书,那么她理想的工作就是在出版社工作。 “我很喜欢看球场,看到一个故事从一个主意变成一部已出版的小说。”

贝伦斯女士读的最后一本书是 姐姐 詹妮弗·唐纳利(Jennifer Donnelly)撰写。 “这是继姐姐的观点中对灰姑娘的重述,但它也包含了命运和机会之类的人物。 这是一个关于一个女孩的故事,这个女孩在不知不觉中试图改变自己的命运,并探索了一个没有“美”定义的想法。

Teacher Tuesday – Meet Ms. Behrens

Ms. BehrensMeet Ms. Behrens

Ms. Behrens is a 7th grade English Language Arts teacher who has been with APS, at Swanson for the past six years.

Teaching runs in Ms. Behrens’ family.  Her mom was a fifth-grade teacher for twenty years, and still works in Loudoun County as an administrator.  “Experiencing school as a “teacher’s kid” can really change your perspective on the amount of work and love that go into this profession.  She taught me that teaching is so much more than just lesson planning and grading—it’s building strong relationships (She just went to one of her former fifth grade student’s weddings last year!) and supporting your students inside and outside of school.”

Ms. Behrens and the 7th grade English team teach in lockstep with one another. They plan all their units collaboratively and try to create lessons that put the child and the student first. “Sometimes that means mixing up our classes so that we can differentiate, while other times it means merging our classes together so that we can co-teach certain concepts.  I’ve always felt supported to teach in a flexible way to best meet the needs of the students.  I think that is something special and unique to our school/district.”

When asked what keeps her motivated, Ms. Behrens replied, “My colleagues are my biggest source of motivation.  I am so grateful to have an amazing CLT and 7th grade team that I work with daily.  Each person that I work with has taught me something new and/or challenged me in some way to step out of my comfort zone.  Teaching can feel isolating at times, especially when you first get started.  I’ve been extremely lucky to work with supportive team members throughout my years at Swanson, and I wouldn’t be the teacher that I am today without their guidance and help along the way.”

What are the biggest joys and challenges of Ms. Behrens’ job?  “My greatest joy with teaching is getting to know students on a personal level and watching them grow as students and individuals over the years.  My biggest challenge is finding the time to reach each student and their individual needs within the timeframe of the school day/year.”

If Ms. Behrens were not teaching, her dream job would be working at a publishing house.  “I’d love to read pitches and see a story go from an idea to a published novel.”

The last book that Ms. Behrens read was Stepsister by Jennifer Donnelly.  “It’s a retelling of Cinderella from one of the stepsister’s point-of-view, but it also incorporates characters such as Fate and Chance.  It’s a story about a girl who is unknowingly trying to change her destiny and explores the idea that there is no one definition of “beauty.”