老师星期二–与威克林先生见面!

威克林先生认识威克林先生

Wickline先生正在APS开学第一年,他在教计算机科学。 此前的职务包括四年的业务和信息技术。 FCPS司法高中的老师,并在退休计划行业担任了许多职务。

当被问到他对与孩子/教书的兴趣如何时,威克林先生回答说:“对我来说,开始是帮助教练女儿的足球队,并意识到这是我正在做的少数事情之一,社区。 我很乐于帮助团队中的球员,而且我认识的一个朋友转行了职业,我开始研究它。”

威克林先生分享了他在工作中最大的快乐和最大的挑战。 “我很乐于帮助学生克服障碍,取得进步,看到或听到他们为自己的成就感到自豪。 最大的挑战是向七年级学生教授一门高中课程,这在网上变得更加困难,因为上课时间似乎很快过去,而且我发现与需要帮助的每个人相比,在课堂上更难获得帮助。”

我们问威克林先生,他如何保持动力和挑战,成为自己最好的老师,他回答说:“我一直是变革推动者,很幸运能够担任能够实施变革以改善运营的职位,产品等。我和老师一样,今年也许会做得更多,因为我的课程较年轻,确实对大多数学生构成了挑战,并且我一直在思考如何为他们做得更好。 我真的没有选择,因为那是我的接线方式。 “

这些天,威克林恩先生一直没有在找乐子,但希望很快能重新找回它。 “我最近读过《阿斯托里亚》,这是关于约翰·雅各布·阿斯特在华盛顿海岸建立一个贸易站的,当时那里什么也没有,也没有涉案人员的考验和磨难。”

威克林先生梦dream以求的工作:“我喜欢生物学,而且我有点健康。 我想我会很高兴成为一名医生。”

Teacher Tuesday – Meet Mr. Wickline!

Mr WicklineMeet Mr. Wickline

Mr. Wickline is starting his first full year at APS and he teaches Computer Science.  Previous roles included four years as a Business & Info Tech. teacher at Justice High School in FCPS and many years in various roles in the retirement plan industry.

When asked how he became interested in working with kids/teaching Mr. Wickline replied, “What started it for me was helping out coaching my daughter’s soccer team and realizing that it was one of the few things I was doing where I felt a part of the community. I enjoyed helping the players on the team and a friend I knew had switched careers to teach and I started looking into it.”

Mr. Wickline shares his greatest joy and biggest challenges of the job.  “I enjoy helping students overcome obstacles to make progress and seeing or hearing about them being proud of what they accomplished. The biggest challenge is teaching a high school level class to seventh graders, which is made more difficult online as the class time seems to go quickly and I find it harder to get to everyone that needs help than I could in a classroom.”

We asked Mr. Wickline how he keeps himself motivated and challenged to be the best teacher he can be to which he replied, “I have always been a change agent and was fortunate to be in positions where I was able to implement changes to improve operations, products, etc. I do the same as a teacher and perhaps more so this year as I have younger students in a course that really challenges most of them and I am continually thinking of how to make things better for them. I really do not have a choice as that is how I am wired. “

Mr. Wickline has not been reading for fun these days but is hoping to get back to it soon.  “I recently read Astoria, which was about John Jacob Astor establishing a trading post on the coast of Washington when there was nothing there and the trials and tribulations of those involved.”

Mr. Wickline’s dream job, “I like biology and I am a bit of a health nut. I think I would have enjoyed being a doctor.”