老师星期二–与佩罗特先生见面!

佩罗先生

认识佩罗特先生!

在加入APS之前,Perrot先生在劳登县公立学校任教拉丁语。 五年前,当在斯旺森开设教授法语和拉丁语的职位时,他抓住了这个机会。 这是种归宿,首先是因为他在法国生活了数年,并且对两种语言都具有同等的热情,然后从字面上看是因为他住在附近! 佩罗特先生目前正在海军上将车轮1年级的探索课程中教授法语6和有关法国文化的部分,他将其称为“具有法国风情的地理”。 这是佩罗特先生的二十年教学。

佩罗特先生之所以选择从事教学事业,是因为他喜欢学习并与他人分享自己的知识。 他重视学科的掌握,并与学生一起工作,以帮助他们在教学期间达到最高水平。 他努力为学生提供一个安全的地方,使他们能够从错误中学习和学习,并乐于帮助他们建立自信,这是我们所有人都需要解决和应对新的,有时是困难的科目所需的自信。 他说:“让孩子们朝着我所教科目上的卓越方向发展并不意味着他们会永远追求这些科目,而只是成为学生学习热情的一部分是教学中最可喜的部分。”

佩罗特先生对他从父母那里得到的教育表示赞赏。 作为博物馆馆长,他的父亲是一位教育家,他向他的所有四个孩子(以及他遇到的每个其他孩子!)都深刻地意识到了学习的重要性。 父亲帮助他发展了自己的终身学习热情,并一直支持他的兴趣。 从中学毕业起,佩罗特先生就一直与他的7年级历史老师艾伦·汉斯保持联系,他一直树立了他学习生活各个方面的热情,并且在他成长的学年中对佩罗特先生产生了最大的影响。

当被问及他对斯旺森的看法时,佩罗特先生说:“斯旺森是一个充满活力的地方。 我特别喜欢我们员工的合力和不断增长的多样性。 学生们是一流的,而且很好奇,对我的热诚使我对一般的中学年龄感到特别。 我每天见证我们学生的智力和好奇心是一种启发。” 他最大的乐趣之一是与继续在他所教授的科目上表现出色的学生保持联系,尤其是遇到了以前的学生,这些学生现在是在弗吉尼亚州学校任教的专业同事。

Perrot先生继续追求阅读和讲拉丁语的兴趣。 他是北美生活拉丁研究所(SALVI)的董事会成员,并定期参加会议和讲习班,以讲和学习拉丁语。 他广泛阅读跨越2,500年拉丁文学作品的文字,最近一次是一世纪罗马诗人Tibullus写的令人愉快的爱情诗。 他还喜欢法语阅读,尤其是1世纪作家Guy de Maupassant的作品,并希望一旦COVID-19不再成为威胁,便能尽快回到法国。

Teacher Tuesday – Meet Mr. Perrot!

Mr. Perrot

Meet Mr. Perrot!

Prior to joining APS, Mr. Perrot taught Latin in Loudoun County Public Schools. When a position to teach both French and Latin opened at Swanson five years ago, he jumped at the opportunity. This was a homecoming of sorts, first because he lived a number of years in France and has an equal passion for both languages, and then quite literally because he lives very close by!  Mr. Perrot is currently teaching French 1 and a section on French culture in the Admiral’s Wheel 6th grade exploratory course which he calls ‘Geography with a French twist’. This is Mr. Perrot’s twentieth year in teaching.

Mr. Perrot chose a teaching career because he loves learning and sharing what he knows with others.  He values subject mastery and working with students to help them reach their highest level of competence during the time he teaches them. He strives to create a safe place for students to make and learn from their mistakes and enjoys helping them develop the self-confidence we all need to approach and tackle new and sometimes difficult subjects. “Pointing kids in a direction to excel in the subjects I teach does not mean that they will pursue these subjects forever,” he says, “but just being part of a student’s enthusiasm for learning is the most gratifying part of teaching.”

Mr. Perrot speaks with appreciation for the education he received from his own parents. As a museum director, his father was an educator who impressed upon all four of his children (and every other kid he met!) the importance of learning. His father was instrumental in helping him develop his own enthusiasm for life-long learning and continues to support his interests to this day. From his middle school education Mr. Perrot is still in touch with his 7th grade history teacher Allan Hansee who has always modeled his enthusiasm for learning in all aspects of his life and who was the greatest single influence on Mr. Perrot during his formative school years.

When asked what he likes about Swanson, Mr. Perrot said, “Swanson is such a vibrant place. I especially like the collegiality and growing diversity of our staff. The students are first-rate and wonderfully inquisitive, with an earnestness that I find special about the middle school age in general. My daily witness to the intellectual energy and curiosity of our students is an inspiration.” One of his greatest joys is keeping in touch with students who continue to excel in the subjects he teaches, and especially running into former students who are now professional colleagues teaching in Virginia schools.

Mr. Perrot continues to pursue his interests reading and speaking Latin. He is a board member of The North American Institute of Living Latin Studies (SALVI) and participates regularly in conferences and workshops to speak and study Latin. He reads widely in texts written across the 2,500 year span of Latin literature, most recently a delightful love poem by the 1st century Roman poet Tibullus. He also enjoys reading in French, especially works by the nineteenth century writer Guy de Maupassant, and hopes to return to France at the first opportunity once COVID-19 is no longer a threat.