المعلم الثلاثاء - لقاء السيد بيرمان!

السيد بيرمانقابل السيد بيرمان

السيد بيرمان ، وهو محارب قديم في وكالة الأنباء الجزائرية لمدة ست سنوات. يعمل كمنسق الإنصاف والتميز ومعلم التربية الخاصة. بدأ حياته المهنية مع وكالة الأنباء الجزائرية كطالب مدرس في سوانسون ، وأثناء وجوده في الكلية ، عمل السيد بيرمان في URJ Youth Camp Harlam. أثناء العمل هناك أصبح مهتمًا أولاً بأن يصبح مدرسًا. "لقد بدأت في التخطيط للكلية للعمل في مجال إنتاج الأفلام والإعلام ، ولكن بعد العمل مع طفلين محددين طوال ذلك الصيف ، بدأت في استكشاف طرق العمل مع الأطفال كمهنة. أدركت بسرعة أن هذا كان أحد أفضل القرارات التي اتخذتها على الإطلاق ".

يشعر السيد بيرمان أن منصبه يلعب دورًا مهمًا للغاية في حياة طلاب سوانسون. "امتلاك أدوار متعددة داخل APS يمنحني منظورًا فريدًا للمقاطعة. يمنحني دوري بصفتي منسق الإنصاف والتميز الفرصة للعمل مع أطفال من مجموعة واسعة من الخلفيات والمساعدة في منح الأطفال فرصًا لتحقيق إمكاناتهم واستكشاف اهتمامات مختلفة. هذا يظهر نفسه بعدة طرق. سواء كان الأمر يتعلق بالعمل مع الطلاب لإشراكهم في الأنشطة المدرسية ، أو اصطحاب الطلاب في رحلات ميدانية إلى الكليات حتى يتمكنوا من رؤية أنفسهم أكثر في تعليمهم وتوسيع الفرص ، أو الذهاب إلى دورات تدريبية للعمل على مهارات القيادة في بيئة جديدة. إن امتلاك دور يمكنني من خلاله التواصل مع الأطفال من المجتمعات المهمشة تاريخيًا والمساعدة في تحفيزهم ، أثناء الدفاع عنهم على مستوى المدرسة والمقاطعة ، يحفزني لأكون أفضل معلم / موجه يمكنني أن أكون ".

حظي السيد بيرمان بالعديد من اللحظات التي يفتخر بها أثناء عمله في سوانسون. "أكثر اللحظات فخراً هي عندما أرى الطلاب يبدأون في رؤية أنفسهم كأفراد أقوياء وأذكياء وقادرين على أي شيء. أحد طلابي القدامى يجسد هذا بشكل مثالي. قابلت طالبًا في الصف السادس في مجموعتي BoyzIIMen بعد المدرسة. كان يواجه قدرًا لا بأس به من المتاعب ، ولم ينخرط في المدرسة ، ولم يرَ مستقبلًا لنفسه. في الصف السابع ، تم تكليفه بمهمة التعليم الخاص وبدأنا بالفعل في تغيير السيناريو له ؛ جعله يرى مستقبلًا مشرقًا لنفسه. في الوقت نفسه ، بدأنا في جعل الآخرين في عالمه يرون كم هو رائع أيضًا. بحلول الوقت الذي كان فيه في الصف الثامن ، كان قائدًا قويًا وإيجابيًا في المدرسة. نظر إليه جميع طلابي الصغار واستمروا في التطلع إليه. الآن ، يواصل السير في هذا الطريق نحو العظمة في كل من الفصل الدراسي والرياضة وفي الأروقة كقائد ونموذج يحتذى به. إن مشاهدة هذا الشاب وتمكينه من صنع المستقبل الذي يريده هو مثال على سبب حبي للتدريس ".

عملت مونيكا لوزانو كالديرا ، منسقة إنجاز الأقليات السابقة في سوانسون ، كمرشد للسيد بيرمان. "عندما بدأت الدراسة في سوانسون لأول مرة كطالب مدرس ، قابلت مونيكا. على الرغم من أنني لم أعمل معها في التدريس لطالبتي ، فقد خصصت الوقت لإعطائي النصيحة وتشجيعي على الاستمرار في التغلب على التحديات. عندما تم تعييني بدوام كامل كمدرس للتربية الخاصة ، تعاونا وعملنا مع العديد من الأطفال. لقد أوضحت لي كيف أكون بطلة لا هوادة فيها للأطفال. كيفية تحميل الأطفال المسؤولية عن التوقعات العالية مع منحهم الدعم والحب والتشجيع الذي يحتاجون إليه للوصول إلى تلك التوقعات. كان أحد أهم الأشياء التي فعلتها مونيكا بالنسبة لي هو تركني مسؤولًا عن مجموعة توجيه أولادها بعد ظهر أحد الأيام عندما اضطرت إلى المغادرة مبكرًا. تطورت تلك المجموعة إلى ما يعرف الآن باسم BoyzIIMen. من خلال هذه المجموعة ، أتيحت لي الفرصة للتواصل مع العديد من الأطفال وإرشادهم على مر السنين. بدون مونيكا ، لا أعرف ما إذا كنت سأقدم طلبًا لشغل منصبي الحالي كمنسق الأسهم والتميز ".

سيقدم السيد بيرمان النصائح التالية لأولئك الذين يطمحون إلى التدريس ، "يحتاج الأطفال إلى أبطال في معلميهم. الأشخاص الذين يعتقدون ، في جوهرهم ، أن طلابهم يمكنهم تحقيق العظمة. ستكون هناك أيام صعبة تختبر فيها رغبتك في أن تصبح مدرسًا ، لكن عددهم يفوقهم كثيرًا باللحظات والأيام التي لا يمكنك فيها تخيل فعل أي شيء آخر. في تلك الأيام الصعبة ، لا يزال يتعين عليك إيجاد طرق لإظهار لكل طالب كيف تؤمن به. أود أيضًا مشاركة نفس النصيحة التي أقدمها للأطفال: التركيز على ما يمكنك التحكم فيه. هناك جوانب كثيرة لكونك مدرسًا خارجة عن إرادتنا. الاجتماعات والأوراق المطلوبة ، ورسائل البريد الإلكتروني التي لا نهاية لها ، خارج اهتمامات المدرسة لطلابنا ، والعديد من الآخرين. يساعد التركيز على الأشياء التي يمكننا التحكم فيها والتأثير فيها على الحفاظ على أساس واحد وموجّه نحو الحلول بدلاً من الضياع في بعض الجوانب المحبطة للعمل في التعليم ".

عندما سُئل عما سيفعله إذا لم يكن مدرسًا ، أجاب السيد بيرمان ، "كلما فكرت في الوظيفة التي أريدها إذا لم أكن مدرسًا ، أعود دائمًا إلى شيء واحد ؛ كوني طباخًا / طاهيًا ولدي مطعم خاص بي. احب الطبخ. إنه يساعدني على الاسترخاء ، ويتيح لي أن أكون مبدعًا ، وأعبر عن نفسي. تمامًا مثل التدريس ، سأكون مبدعًا ، وأشارك من أنا ، وأتحرك كثيرًا ".

Teacher Tuesday – Meet Mr. Berman!

Mr. BermanMeet Mr. Berman

Mr. Berman, a six-year veteran of APS.  He serves as the Equity and Excellence Coordinator and is a Special Education Teacher.  He began his career with APS as a student teacher at Swanson.While in college, Mr. Berman worked at URJ Youth Camp Harlam.  It is while working there that he first became interested in becoming a teacher.  “I started college planning to work in film and media production, but after working with two specific kids throughout that summer, I began exploring ways of working with kids as a career. I quickly realized this was one of the best decisions I had ever made.”

Mr. Berman feels that his position plays a very important role in the lives of Swanson students.  “Having multiple roles within APS gives me a unique perspective on the county.  My role as the Equity & Excellence Coordinator gives me the opportunity to work with kids from a wide range of backgrounds and help to give kids opportunities to achieve their potential and explore different interests. This shows itself in a variety of ways.  Whether it’s working with students to engage them in school activities, taking students on field trips to colleges so they’re able to see themselves further their education and expand opportunities, or going to ropes courses to work on leadership skills in a new environment.  Having a role where I can connect with kids from historically marginalized communities and help motivate them, while advocating for them on a school and county level, motivates me to be the best teacher/mentor I can be.”

Mr. Berman has had many proud moments while working at Swanson.  “My proudest moments are when I see students begin to see themselves as powerful, strong, and intelligent individuals capable of anything.  One of my old students exemplifies this perfectly.  I met a 6th grade student in my after-school group BoyzIIMen. He was getting into a fair amount of trouble, not engaged in school, and he did not see a future for himself.  In 7th grade he was assigned to my special education caseload and we really began to change the script for him; getting him to see a bright future for himself. At the same time, we started getting others in his world to see how great he was too. By the time he was an 8th grader he was a strong, positive leader in the school.  All my younger students looked up to him and continue to look up to him.  Now, he is continuing along this path towards greatness both in the classroom, in sports, and in the hallways as a leader and role model.  Watching this young man and empowering him to create the future he wanted for himself is an example of why I love teaching.”

Monica Lozano-Caldera, a former Minority Achievement Coordinator at Swanson, served as a mentor to Mr. Berman.  “When I first started out at Swanson as a student teacher, I met Monica.  Even though I was not paired with her for my student teaching, she made time to give me advice and encourage me to keep pushing through challenges.  When I was hired full-time as a Special Education Teacher we collaborated and worked with many kids.  She showed me how to be a relentless champion for kids; how to hold kids accountable to high expectations while giving them the support, love, and encouragement they needed to reach those expectations.  One of the most important things Monica did for me was to leave me in charge of her boys mentoring group one afternoon when she had to leave early.  That group has evolved into what is now BoyzIIMen.  Through this group, I have had the opportunity to connect with and mentor many kids over the years.  Without Monica, I do not know if I would have applied for my current position of Equity & Excellence Coordinator.”

Mr. Berman would give the following advice to those aspiring to teach, “Kids need champions in their teachers.  People who, in their core, believe that their students can achieve greatness.  There are going to be tough days that test you and your desire to be a teacher, but they are greatly outnumbered by the moments and days where you cannot imagine doing anything else.  On those tough days you must still find ways to show each student how you believe in them.  I would also share the same advice I give to kids: focus on what you can control.  There are a lot of aspects of being a teacher that are beyond our control.  Mandated meetings and paperwork, endless emails, outside of school concerns for our students, and many others. Focusing on things we can control, and influence helps to keep one grounded and solution-oriented instead of getting lost in some frustrating aspects of working in education.”

When asked what he would do if he were not a teacher Mr. Berman replied, “Whenever I think about what job I would want if I wasn’t a teacher, I always come back to one thing; being a cook/chef and having my own restaurant.  I love to cook. It helps me relax, lets me be creative, and express myself.  Just like teaching, I would get to be creative, share who I am, and move a lot.”