老师星期二–与伯曼先生见面!

伯曼先生认识伯曼先生

Berman先生,在APS工作了XNUMX年。 他是平等与卓越协调员,也是一名特殊教育老师。 他的职业生涯始于APS,是Swanson的学生老师。在大学期间,Berman先生曾在URJ Harlam青年营工作。 正是在那里工作的时候,他第一次对成为一名老师产生了兴趣。 “我开始大学计划从事电影和媒体制作,但是在整个夏天与两个特定的孩子一起工作之后,我开始探索与孩子们一起工作的方式。 我很快意识到这是我做过的最好的决定之一。”

伯曼先生认为,他的职位在斯旺森学生的生活中起着非常重要的作用。 “在APS内担任多个职务使我对县有独特的见解。 我作为平等与卓越协调员的角色使我有机会与来自不同背景的孩子们一起工作,并帮助给孩子们机会,以发挥他们的潜力并探索不同的兴趣。 这以多种方式显示出来。 无论是与学生合作使他们参与学校活动,还是让学生去大学进行实地考察,使他们能够看到自己的继续教育并扩大机会,还是在新环境中进行绳索课程以提高领导技能。 我可以与历史上处于边缘地位的社区的孩子建立联系,并帮助他们激励自己,同时在学校和县一级提倡他们,这激励着我成为我所能做的最好的老师/导师。”

伯曼先生在斯旺森(Swanson)工作期间度过了许多自豪的时刻。 “我最自豪的时刻是当我看到学生们开始将自己视为有能力,有才干和有才智的个人时。 我的一位老同学很好地证明了这一点。 我在课余小组BoyzIIMen中遇到了一个六年级的学生。 他陷入了很多麻烦,没有上学,也没有看到自己的未来。 在6年级,他被分配到我的特殊教育案例中,我们真的开始为他更改脚本。 让他看到自己的光明前景。 同时,我们开始吸引其他人进入他的世界,看看他也有多伟大。 到他7年级的时候,他已经成为学校中坚强而积极的领导者。 我所有的年轻学生都仰望他,并继续仰望他。 现在,他在课堂,运动和走廊上都以领导者和榜样的身份继续朝着卓越的道路前进。 看着这个年轻人,让他有能力创造自己想要的未来,这就是我热爱教学的一个例子。”

斯旺森(Swanson)的前少数族裔成就协调员莫妮卡(Monica Lozano-Caldera)是伯曼先生的导师。 “当我刚开始在Swanson担任学生老师时,我遇到了Monica。 即使在我的学生教学中没有与她配对,她还是抽出时间给我建议,并鼓励我继续克服挑战。 当我被全职聘为特殊教育老师时,我们与许多孩子一起合作和工作。 她向我展示了如何成为孩子们不懈的冠军。 如何使孩子对高期望负责,同时给予他们达到这些期望所需的支持,爱心和鼓励。 莫妮卡(Monica)为我做的最重要的事情之一是,当她不得不提早离开时,一个下午让我去负责她的男孩指导小组。 该组织已经发展成为现在的BoyzIIMen。 多年来,通过这个小组,我有机会与许多孩子建立联系并进行指导。 没有莫妮卡,我不知道我是否会申请我现在的股票与卓越协调员职位。”

伯曼先生会向有志教书的人提供以下建议:“孩子们需要老师的拥护者。 相信自己的学生可以成就卓越的人们。 将会有艰难的日子考验着你和你成为一名老师的愿望,但是在你无法想象做任何其他事情的时刻和日子里,这些日子远远超过了。 在那些艰难的日子里,您仍然必须找到方法向每个学生展示您如何相信他们。 我也将分享给孩子的相同建议:专注于您可以控制的东西。 成为老师的许多方面是我们无法控制的。 强制性会议和文书工作,无休止的电子邮件,在校外为学生担心的问题以及许多其他问题。 专注于我们可以控制和影响的事物,有助于保持基础和解决方案导向,而不是迷失在教育工作的某些令人沮丧的方面。”

当被问到如果他不是老师时他会怎么做时,伯曼先生回答说:“每当我考虑如果我不是老师时我想做什么工作,我总是会回到一件事; 做一名厨师/厨师,并拥有自己的餐厅。 我喜欢烹饪。 它可以帮助我放松,让我富有创造力并表达自己。 就像教书一样,我将变得很有创造力,分享自己的身份,并感动很多。”

Teacher Tuesday – Meet Mr. Berman!

Mr. BermanMeet Mr. Berman

Mr. Berman, a six-year veteran of APS.  He serves as the Equity and Excellence Coordinator and is a Special Education Teacher.  He began his career with APS as a student teacher at Swanson.While in college, Mr. Berman worked at URJ Youth Camp Harlam.  It is while working there that he first became interested in becoming a teacher.  “I started college planning to work in film and media production, but after working with two specific kids throughout that summer, I began exploring ways of working with kids as a career. I quickly realized this was one of the best decisions I had ever made.”

Mr. Berman feels that his position plays a very important role in the lives of Swanson students.  “Having multiple roles within APS gives me a unique perspective on the county.  My role as the Equity & Excellence Coordinator gives me the opportunity to work with kids from a wide range of backgrounds and help to give kids opportunities to achieve their potential and explore different interests. This shows itself in a variety of ways.  Whether it’s working with students to engage them in school activities, taking students on field trips to colleges so they’re able to see themselves further their education and expand opportunities, or going to ropes courses to work on leadership skills in a new environment.  Having a role where I can connect with kids from historically marginalized communities and help motivate them, while advocating for them on a school and county level, motivates me to be the best teacher/mentor I can be.”

Mr. Berman has had many proud moments while working at Swanson.  “My proudest moments are when I see students begin to see themselves as powerful, strong, and intelligent individuals capable of anything.  One of my old students exemplifies this perfectly.  I met a 6th grade student in my after-school group BoyzIIMen. He was getting into a fair amount of trouble, not engaged in school, and he did not see a future for himself.  In 7th grade he was assigned to my special education caseload and we really began to change the script for him; getting him to see a bright future for himself. At the same time, we started getting others in his world to see how great he was too. By the time he was an 8th grader he was a strong, positive leader in the school.  All my younger students looked up to him and continue to look up to him.  Now, he is continuing along this path towards greatness both in the classroom, in sports, and in the hallways as a leader and role model.  Watching this young man and empowering him to create the future he wanted for himself is an example of why I love teaching.”

Monica Lozano-Caldera, a former Minority Achievement Coordinator at Swanson, served as a mentor to Mr. Berman.  “When I first started out at Swanson as a student teacher, I met Monica.  Even though I was not paired with her for my student teaching, she made time to give me advice and encourage me to keep pushing through challenges.  When I was hired full-time as a Special Education Teacher we collaborated and worked with many kids.  She showed me how to be a relentless champion for kids; how to hold kids accountable to high expectations while giving them the support, love, and encouragement they needed to reach those expectations.  One of the most important things Monica did for me was to leave me in charge of her boys mentoring group one afternoon when she had to leave early.  That group has evolved into what is now BoyzIIMen.  Through this group, I have had the opportunity to connect with and mentor many kids over the years.  Without Monica, I do not know if I would have applied for my current position of Equity & Excellence Coordinator.”

Mr. Berman would give the following advice to those aspiring to teach, “Kids need champions in their teachers.  People who, in their core, believe that their students can achieve greatness.  There are going to be tough days that test you and your desire to be a teacher, but they are greatly outnumbered by the moments and days where you cannot imagine doing anything else.  On those tough days you must still find ways to show each student how you believe in them.  I would also share the same advice I give to kids: focus on what you can control.  There are a lot of aspects of being a teacher that are beyond our control.  Mandated meetings and paperwork, endless emails, outside of school concerns for our students, and many others. Focusing on things we can control, and influence helps to keep one grounded and solution-oriented instead of getting lost in some frustrating aspects of working in education.”

When asked what he would do if he were not a teacher Mr. Berman replied, “Whenever I think about what job I would want if I wasn’t a teacher, I always come back to one thing; being a cook/chef and having my own restaurant.  I love to cook. It helps me relax, lets me be creative, and express myself.  Just like teaching, I would get to be creative, share who I am, and move a lot.”