المعلم الثلاثاء - قابل السيد باني

السيد باني

قابل السيد باني

السيد بين هو مدرس تاريخ الولايات المتحدة ، والتربية المدنية ، والاقتصاد بالصف السادس ، وقد عمل مع وكالة الأنباء الجزائرية لمدة أربع سنوات. قبل مجيئه إلى وكالة الأنباء الجزائرية ، درس السيد بين في مدارس مقاطعة فولوسيا في فلوريدا لمدة 6 عامًا.

أثار اثنان من معلمي السيد بين اهتمامه بالتعليم. "لقد أظهرت لي معلمة التاريخ في الصف الثامن مدى اهتمامها بطلابها. لقد جعل مدرس الأحياء المتقدم للصف العاشر التعلم الكثير من المرح. لقد كنت دائمًا متعلمًا مدى الحياة واستمتعت بالمدرسة.

سألنا السيد بان الذي ألهمه في حياته المهنية. "مديري السابق ومشرفة المنطقة فيكي بريسلي وزميلتي المدرس ميرا تشيستر. تعلمت منهم كيف أكون محترفًا حقيقيًا في الفصل. لقد علموني أن أضع دائمًا توقعات عالية في الفصل ". "الطلاب لا يهتمون بمدى معرفتك ؛ يريدون معرفة مدى اهتمامك ".

يعتقد السيد بان أن أرلينغتون مكان رائع للتدريس. "نحن محاطون بالكثير من التاريخ الرائع. يأتي العديد من طلابي إلى الفصل بخلفية رائعة من التاريخ. لديهم الكثير من القصص الرائعة ليقولوها عن تجاربهم الشخصية. أنا أستمتع حقًا بالسماع عن والديهم ومهنهم. هناك الكثير ممن يعملون في مجالات مثل الخدمة السرية الأمريكية والوكالات الحكومية الأخرى. يعمل بعض آبائهم في مبنى الكابيتول هيل ومع الشركات الدولية. نحن على حق في قلب كل شيء! لا يمكنني التفكير في مكان أكثر إثارة للتدريس ".

ما هي بعض أعظم أفراح السيد بين والتحديات في وظيفته؟ "أعظم فرحة: إجراء اتصالات مع الطلاب في الفصل ، وإجراء مناقشات مع الطلاب وهم منخرطون جدًا في الموضوع. التحدي الأكبر: الموازنة بين احتياجات التعلم المتنوعة لطلابي ".

عندما سُئل كيف يحافظ على تحفيز نفسه ، أجاب السيد بان ، "لقد أدركت منذ سنوات عديدة مدى الفرق الذي يمكن أن يحدثه المعلم في الفصل الدراسي. إحداث تأثير على طلابي ... هذا هو حافزي. طوال 27 عامًا من حياتي المهنية ، نشأ العديد من طلابي ليصبحوا معلمين. لقد شاركني العديد من الأشخاص بأنني أحد الأسباب التي دفعتهم إلى أن يصبحوا معلمين. في عام 2018 ، تواصل معي طالب سابق على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. تذكرت وجودها في صفي في 11 سبتمبر 2001 وكيف جعلت الطلاب هادئين للغاية في يوم محموم ومأساوي. أنت لا تعرف أبدًا متى تحدث فرقًا ".

السيد Bane's يقرأ حاليا فقط طائرة في السماء بواسطة غاريت إم غراف. إذا لم يكن يدرس ، فسيكون السيد Bane إما عازف طبول في فرقة موسيقى الروك أو محلل كرة قدم NFL.

Teacher Tuesday – Meet Mr. Bane

Mr. Bane

Meet Mr. Bane

Mr. Bane is a 6th Grade U.S. History, Civics and Economics Teacher who has been with APS for four years.  Before coming to APS Mr. Bane taught in Volusia County Schools in Florida for 23 years.

Two of Mr. Bane’s teachers got him interested in education.  “My 8th grade history teacher showed me how much she cared about her students. My 10th grade Advanced Biology teacher made learning so much fun.  I have always been a lifelong learner and enjoyed school.

We asked Mr. Bane who inspired him in his career.  “My former administrator and Area Superintendent Vickie Presley and my fellow teacher Myra Chester.  I learned from them how to be a true professional in the classroom.  They taught me to always set high expectations in the classroom.”  “Students do not care how much you know; they want to know how much you care.”

Mr. Bane believes that Arlington is a wonderful place to teach.  “We are surrounded by so much wonderful history.  Many of my students come to class with such a wonderful background in history.  They have so many great stories to tell about their own personal experiences.  I really enjoy hearing about their parents and their professions. There are so many that work in fields such as the U.S. Secret Service and other government agencies.  Some of their parents work on Capitol Hill and with international corporations.  We are right in the heart of everything!  I can’t think of a more exciting place to teach.”

What are some of Mr. Bane’s greatest joys and challenges in his job?  “Greatest joy:  Making connections with students in the classroom, having discussions with students and they are so engaged on the topic.  Biggest challenge:  Balancing the diverse learning needs of my students.”

When asked how he keeps himself motivated Mr. Bane replied, “I realized many years ago how much of a difference a teacher can make in the classroom.  Making an impact on my students… that is my motivation.  Throughout my 27-year career, several of my students have grown up to become teachers.  Several have shared with me that I am one of the reasons that they wanted to become an educator.  In 2018, a former student reached out to me on social media.  She remembered being in my class on September 11, 2001 and how I made the students so calm on an otherwise hectic and tragic day.  You never know when you are making a difference.”

Mr. Bane’s is currently reading Only Plane In the Sky by Garrett M. Graff.  If he were not teaching, Mr. Bane would either be a drummer in a rock band or an NFL football analyst.