Counselors

The School Counselor and Student Mental Health

School counselors recognize and respond to the need for mental health and behavioral prevention, early intervention and crisis services that promote psychosocial wellness and development for all students. School counselors are prepared to address barriers and to assess ways to maximize students’ success in schools, communities and their family structure by offering education, prevention, and crisis and short-term intervention until the student is connected with available community resources. (ASCA, 2015)

Student Services Department 2022-2023

Located on the first floor in Room 111

Office Hours: 7:30am – 3:00pm

Rana Luthra

Director of Counseling

rana.luthra@apsva.us 703-228-5535

Chrissy Reardon

6th Grade Counselor

christine.reardon@apsva.us 703-228-5512

Laura Goodwyn

7th Grade Counselor

(last names A-O)

laura.goodwyn@apsva.us 703-228-5519

Melissa Ortiz

7th Grade Counselor 

(last names P-Z)

English Learner Program Counselor (levels 1-4)

melissa.laraortiz@apsva.us 703-228-5509

Michelle Wilkes

8th Grade Counselor

michelle.wilkes@apsva.us 703-228-5511

Liska Friedman

School Social Worker

liska.friedman@apsva.us 703-228-2345

Jennifer Phillipp

School Psychologist

jennifer.phillipp@apsva.us 703-228-2346

Whitney Field

Resource Teacher for the Gifted

whitney.field@apsva.us 703-228-5529

Rianne Connelly

Registrar

rianne.connelly@apsva.us 703-228-5508

Ronah Klassen

Special Education Administrative Assistant

ronah.klassen@apsva.us 703-228-5502

Nohra Rodriguez

Bilingual Family Liaison

nohra.rodriguez@apsva.us 703-228-5507

What other support is available in our office?