俱樂部與組織

本學年所有俱樂部將在虛擬環境中開會。 請聯繫俱樂部贊助商以獲取詳細信息!

BoyzIIMen –通過Canvas從12:30-1:15逢星期二

贊助商:Seas Berman先生9. BoyzIIMen為學生提供一個安全和支持的環境,他們可以在其中表達自己的意見,討論並了解在現代美國成為男人的意義,學習新的領導技能,討論他們遇到的問題和奮鬥遇到,並在結構化的環境中與同伴建立聯繫。 我們通過討論,遊戲,實地考察,演講嘉賓和其他體驗式學習活動來實現這些目標。

法國俱樂部–第1和第3週四

發起人:佩羅特先生,勞西奧女士。 快來慶祝法國的所有事物,包括電影,音樂和美食。 我們將一起探索當地阿靈頓社區的法語活動和機會。

性別性聯盟-每週二下午2點。 電子郵件 勞拉·古德溫(Laura Goodwyn) 加入代碼!

贊助者:古德溫女士,埃利斯女士,海洋6.性別性聯盟(GSA)是一個學生經營的俱樂部,為學生提供一個聚會,互相支持,談論與性取向和性別相關問題的安全場所。身份。 該俱樂部還提供宣傳,教育和籌款機會,以期終結同性戀恐懼症和跨性別恐懼症。 歡迎所有有任何性取向或性別認同的學生。 

LYLAS(在斯旺森領導的拉丁美洲青年)-星期一

贊助商:梅利莎·奧爾蒂斯(Melissa Ortiz),卡拉·麥吉(Karla McGhee)和伯大尼·索拉諾(Bethany Solano)。 通過慶祝和探索文化,致力於為拉丁裔/西班牙裔女孩賦予權力並創造領導機會。

波長文學雜誌–週二/週四

贊助者:麥克法蘭女士224號會議室。該委員會由6、7、8年級的學生組成,每週開會討論獨立寫作項目,計劃和判斷學校範圍的寫作挑戰,並選擇要發表在Swanson在線文學作品上的作品。雜誌,波長。 歡迎讀者,作家和藝術家加入這個社區,該社區致力於表達自己的創造才能,並激發他人這樣做! 

MathCounts –變化

贊助商:Partridge女士222室。MATHCOUNTS是一項全國性的數學豐富,指導和競賽計劃,旨在促進美國每個州和地區的中學數學成績。 基本上,這是一個喜歡學習數學問題的學生的俱樂部–您不必是數學專家–您只需要享受它並想挑戰自己即可。 從十月到二月,學生每周放學一次或兩次。 不需要學生參加每一次練習–盡一切可能。

姐妹聚會–週二

發起人:雷頓女士,希爾女士234室。姐妹會是一個針對有色女孩的俱樂部,致力於發展領導才能和樹立積極的形象。

斯旺森家庭讀書俱樂部–週二晚上

贊助者:Dykema女士,Hailey圖書館女士。 這是一個多元文化的讀書俱樂部,每個月的第一個星期一晚上在斯旺森圖書館開會。 該俱樂部的目的是創建一個讀者家庭,並將不同的文化和不同的世代匯聚在一起,讓家庭共享閱讀的樂趣。 要求學生攜帶他們目前正在閱讀的任何書籍,並邀請家人與他們一起參加讀書俱樂部。

斯旺森年輕民主黨人–星期四

發起人:梅琳女士。

青少年諮詢委員會(TAB)–在四年級的午餐時間通過Canvas開會!

贊助商:圖書館。 青少年諮詢委員會(TAB)是一個讀書俱樂部,學生可以在其中閱讀和閱讀圖書館的新書。 阿靈頓縣公共圖書館在所有五所公立中學都有TAB組。 在每個學年結束時,每個學校的TAB組都會投票選出該年中最喜歡的書名。 這可以幫助每個人找出其他學生喜歡的書以及不同學校的熱門書籍。 要加入Swanson的TAB小組,請在其中一次午餐會議中加入我們。 請參閱圖書館管理員的會議時間表。 TAB學生應每月至少閱讀一本書。

Clubs & Organizations

All clubs will be meeting in a virtual setting this school year. Contact the club sponsor for details!

BoyzIIMen – Meets Tuesdays from 12:30-1:15 though Canvas

Sponsor: Mr. Berman, Seas 9. BoyzIIMen provides students a safe and supportive environment in which they can express themselves, discuss and learn about what it means to be a man in modern America, learn new leadership skills, discuss the issues and struggles they encounter, and connect with their peers in a structured setting.  We accomplish these goals through discussions, games, field trips, guest speakers, and other experiential learning activities.

French Club – 1st and 3rd Thursdays

Sponsors: Mr. Perrot, Ms. Rauseo. Come celebrate all things French, including movies, music, and food.  Together we will explore French language activities and opportunities in the local Arlington community.

Gender Sexuality Alliance – Tuesdays at 2PM virtually. Email Laura Goodwyn for the code to join!

Sponsors:, Ms. Goodwyn, Ms. Ellis, Seas 6. The Gender Sexuality Alliance (GSA) is a student run club which provides a safe place for students to meet, support each other, and talk about issues related to sexual orientation and gender identity. The club also provides advocacy, education and fundraising opportunities with the hope to end homophobia and transphobia. All students of any sexual orientation or gender identity are welcome. 

LYLAS (Latina Youth Leading At Swanson)- Mondays

Sponsors: Melissa Ortiz, Karla McGhee, and Bethany Solano. Focuses on empowering and creating leadership opportunities for our girls of Latino/Hispanic heritage through the celebration and exploration of culture.

Wavelength Literary Magazine – Tuesdays/Thursdays

Sponsors: Ms. McFarlane room 224. This committee, made up of 6th, 7th, and 8th grade students, meets weekly to work on independent writing projects, plan and judge school-wide writing challenges, and select pieces to publish on Swanson’s online literary magazine, Wavelength. Readers, writers, and artists are welcome to join this community that strives to express their creative talents and inspire others to do the same! 

MathCounts – Varies

Sponsor: Ms. Partridge room 222. MATHCOUNTS is a national math enrichment, coaching & competition program that promotes middle school mathematics achievement in every U.S. state & territory. Basically it’s a club for students who enjoy working on math problems – you do not have to be an expert at math – you just need to enjoy it and want to challenge yourself. The students meet after school once or twice a week from October through February. Students are not required to attend every practice – it’s come as you can.

Sisterhood – Tuesdays

Sponsor: Ms. Reardon, Ms. Hill, Room 234. Sisterhood is a club targeted towards girls of color, focusing on developing leadership skills and fostering positive identity.

Swanson Family Book Club – Tuesday Evenings

Sponsor: Ms. Dykema, Ms. Hailey Library. This is a multicultural book club that meets in the evening in the Swanson library the first Monday of each month.  The purpose of the club is to create a family of readers and to bring together different cultures and different generations as families share in the joy of reading together.  Students are asked to bring whatever book they are currently reading, and to invite a family member to attend book club with them.

Swanson Young Democrats – Thursdays

Sponsor: Ms. Merlene.

Teen Advisory Board (TAB) – Meets Thursdays during grade level lunch times through Canvas!

Sponsors: Library. Teen Advisory Board (T.A.B.) is a book club where students read and review new books for the library. The Arlington County Public Library has T.A.B. groups in all five public middle schools. At the end of every school year, each school’s T.A.B. group votes for its favorite titles from the year. This helps everybody find out which books other students liked and what was hot in different schools. To join Swanson’s T.A.B. group, join us during one of the lunch meetings. See a librarian for a meeting schedule.  T.A.B. students are expected to read at least one book per month.